Trick or Treating

Our family joined the throng as we scampered from door to door last night. We enjoy choosing family themes and our theme this year was nursery rhymes/fairy tales. My six year old made a very charming Little Bo Peep complete with her bloomers, ruffley hat, and staff. Our little shepherdess shepharding us along from house to house. My five year old led the pack as little red riding hood. I can still loose myself in the image of her galloping ahead, her red cloak flapping around her as it caught air and in those especially joyous moments as she jumped her hood falling back exposing her pigtail braids flapping at the side of her head. Then our little curly haired blond three year old running to keep up holding tight to her big stuffed bear as goldilocks. Anxiously pointing to each house and showing off each treasure with shear delight. My husband and I even joined in the festivities as Jack and Jill toting along our pail and our youngest little tyke of seven months cloaked warmly in his Humpty Dumpty costume. His eyes growing sleepy in the gentleness of papa’s arms, not aware of the excitement and energy in the air. The Oregon rain subsided just long enough for us to make the rounds and we rounded off the evening warming up with corndogs and chili at a friends house as the kids galloped about and the adults chatted. I love these special family times and memories forever fixed upon my mind, after all isn’t this the joy of motherhood and parenting? Creating these special good moments that will last through the years. I will never forget the excitment in my children’s eyes the curls bouncing up and down running from house to house, and the red cape flapping in the night. These will become those special moments and thoughts I can cuddle up with on a cold day with a cup of hot chocolate.

5 Comments

Filed under Children, Family, Parenting

5 responses to “Trick or Treating

  1. wonderful writing, I can actually picture you all in your costumes walking down the street in Oregon. (I guess it helps that Portland is one of my most favorite places!)
    Welcome to the blog world.

    (P.S. this is Dana Snedigar)

  2. Oh I would LOVE to have seen that! (This is Heather, also from fbi.)

    Welcome welcome; I hope you enjoy blogging as much as we do!

  3. Julia! Wonderful post! Keep it up, blogging can be a great release. Not to mention, it is an easy way to journal and yet not journal 🙂

  4. Hey julia! I don’t know if you actually remember me from Ricks (I think I only met you when you got off your mission and you and Paul were engaged), but I have so many stories of Paul, it’s hilarious. I may have to post a fewm just for kicks. Hee hee hee.

    You are a great writer! Welcome to the world of blogging!

  5. Hi! Am I the only one who doesn’t know you? 🙂 Are you one of the infamous Ricks buddies?

    Sounds like a great trick or treating adventure!!

    Welcome to blogging!–>

Leave a Reply

