Jackpot!!!

There are moments in life when you feel like you just hit the jackpot. No matter how trivial it might seem to others you feel like you are holding a bar of gold. I felt that way when I got married, and when I held each of my kids for the first time. I felt that way when I got to hold Jacob for the first time after his heart surgery. It’s not always a huge moment that creates that special jackpot feeling though. This summer I found the most incredible deal at a garage sale and got that instant jackpot feeling. Now, where is this jackpot story leading you might ask?

Well, today is gold rush day. I went on a simple outing to Walmart in search for hamster bedding and pull-ups and I hit the jackpot. I was passing the cheap-o dump bin for DVDs and out of the corner of my eye I saw it, a bar of gold! A collection of 60 cartoons, not just any cartoons, but old, really old classics! We’re talking a two disk double sided collection of: Popeye, Superman, Felix the Cat, Woody Wood Pecker, Little LuLu, Mighty Mouse, Mutt and Jeff (I’m so excited to watch those Fourth Fret), Baby Huey, Little Audrey, Betty Boop, Casper, and some miscellaneous ones like The Big Bad Wolf and Humpty Dumpty. It even came with a bonus CD with 49 kids songs on it! The whole works cost me a whoppin’ $5.50. They are not restored and little lines and squiggles dance along the screen from time to time, but that makes is so much more authentic and fun.

So here I am in the middle of a gold rush with my 3 year old and baby watching Popeye. Can life possibly get any better than this? Well, yeah, when I have all the kids home from school then that will be the top!! Life is Great!!! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Children, Family, Love and Marriage, Opinion, Parenting, Philosophy

3 responses to “Jackpot!!!

  1. no kidding, gotta love those bargain shopping treasures! Have fun watching cartoons, and I hope your kids appreciate them too.

  2. Janelle

    We have a bunch of those too!

Leave a Reply

