Who are you named after?

I was teaching Dorothy’s Sunday school class yesterday – a batch of 5 year olds -7 of them actually, and we were learning about not taking the Lord’s name in vain. In an effort to stress the point that our names are special I explained that their Mom and Dad chose special names when they were born and some of them might be named after someone that meant a lot to their parents. I used Dorothy as an example explaining that she was named after her Grandma (my mom). I asked the other kids if any of them were named after someone special. I immediately got hands in the air and lots of answers.

“I was named after my big sister Reagan and Sydney, and after my mom and my dad.”

“I was named after my big brother.”

“I was named after my 3 brothers and sister”.

“My little sister was named after me!”

I ended up getting a family history from almost every child as they listed everyone born before them that they came “after”. I think I hid behind my manual, I was laughing so hard. I just love kids . . .

4 Comments

Filed under Humor, Religion, Things Kids Say

4 responses to “Who are you named after?

  1. ROFL! I love kids! You really should tell a few of the kid’s parents about that one, I for one, would love to hear if my girls said something like that in class!

  2. Kids! Gotta love ’em. They can be so confused by adults’ questions. I remember being asked, “Where did you get your [facial feature, like pretty smile or rosy cheeks]?” I never knew how to answer. I always said, “I don’t know. I think from my grandma.”

  3. So funny.
    So by their logic I’m named after my mother? (because I’m the oldest.) Almost named after my Dad’s bike, but that’s another story …

  4. I never would have thought that they would have answered the question like that. That is too precious!

Leave a Reply

