Look Out Below!!

It’s amazing some of the things we do as kids that would be absolutely disgusting now. I remember I used to love peanut butter and mayonnaise (well, actually Miracle Whip, that’s all my mom used) sandwiches. Yuck! There is one particular activity I remember that we loved . . .

Our hayloft was the second story of our barn. At either end we had two big windows. It was quite a ways down. On one side there was a cement patio that we used to play games and such. The other side was the animals’ entry. Usually left open so they could some and go to their stalls, etc. There was also a huge manure pile. My dad always kept it very well limed. The lime took the smell out, and it was very old and dry as well, it wasn’t all we and fresh and gooey, that would just make this story to gross to tell.

My brothers and I were playing in the hayloft, I honestly don’t remember if my sisters were involved or not. It all started with a dare. “Let’s jump out the hayloft window.” I don’t remember which brother it was or to who, I think it was to all of us in general. We all just kind of laughed, like a yeah right laugh, we’ll kill ourselves laugh, and started to play one of our make believe games. It was at a point when we were escaping a dragon or some such when one of my brothers launched himself right out the hayloft window . . . into the old pile of manure! Well, it didn’t kill him, and it looked like great fun, so we all launched ourselves out the window. Having a nice firm spongy landing every time with peals of laughter echoing through the barnyard. The animals looking at us lazily, wondering what we saw was so amusing about a manure pile. Obviously none of us were scared of heights jumping out a second story window, I’m surprised my dad didn’t skin us alive! Kimball was the only one brave enough (?) to jump out on the pavement side. We were all very impressed that he did it and didn’t even break anything! Ahh, the things kids do . . .

(*sniff* – do I smell something? . . . )

7 Comments

Filed under Farm Stories, Goofs, Humor, Personal History, Writing

7 responses to “Look Out Below!!

  1. Huh, what a pile of manure that post was!

    (Okay, that’s probably the only time I’ll ever get to write a comment like that and not make an enemy for life. Right, Julia? You’re not going to be my enemy, now, are you?)

  2. Karen – Grrr . . . JK 🙂

  3. Holy stinkin’ manure, Batman! What a post!

    I remember as a kid that we did all sorts of horrible things (some disgusting, some just plain dangerous) that I would NEVER do today… like jumping off the roof of our house onto an old mattress (and usually missing the mattress, but doing this over an over again anyhow).

    It’s amazing anyone lives past age 12. And then it’s the teenage years. AAAHHHH!!!!

  4. I’d just like to say that I am insulted. I have never been treated in such a fashion, being told that my post stinks, and that it was a pile of manure. Really, and I thought you were my blogging friends! Just kidding. See, now you have free liscense to tell me how rotten my post is and I will remain completely oblivious. (I expect you to take full advantage of the opportunity) hee hee 🙂

    By the way, Karen, if you read the comments and wonder who snoopydad is, that was me on my hubby’s computer.

  5. well, this is what i get for being late. everyone else gets to make the best stench jokes.

    i’m pouting. my nose is covered, but i’m pouting!

  6. okay, I feel like Fourth Fret too. No chance to make any stinky jokes.
    But you’re right Julia, its amazing what we do as kids, how our parents don’t kill us for doing it, and how we don’t kill ourselves in the process. That was a great story, heaven help me when my kids get older and they start coming up with fun new games to give mom a heart attack.

Leave a Reply

