Dime Rhymes

I don’t know if anyone has ever heard of dime rhymes, but they are a lot of fun. When I read Karen’s Couplet today it reminded me of my creative writing class and our assignment to come up with our own dime rhymes. If you feel like doing something funny and corny, try doing one of these some time. Here are a couple I came up with for an example:

If placing a magnet near a computer is to “risk the disk,” then killing a frog is to “inhibit the ribbit.”

If to poke a bug is to “stick the tick,” then to boot the bird is “kickin’ the chicken.”

Have fun, and if you decide to do any of your own, let me know what you come up with! Hee Hee πŸ™‚

7 Comments

Filed under Writing

7 responses to “Dime Rhymes

  1. Technical digression: if you want to link to just the post and not the entire blog, you can click on the little “timestamp” (2:17 PM) at the bottom of the post. Or you can use the link at the side under “Recent Posts”.

    …I’m off to think of some dime rhymes now…

  2. Thanks Karen, I didn’t think about that when I was writing it last night. πŸ™‚

  3. Okay I know it’s been all day but I could only come up with one:

    If you are amused by the antics of your canine pal and want to share them you can “blog the dog”.

  4. Before I let my brain go free on this one, let me get this straight. Is a dime rhyme a rhyming analogy?

  5. Karen, that is cute πŸ™‚

    PM- that is right, it is an if-then statement, follow the basic pattern:

    If_(non rhyme)_is to_(rhyme)_then_(non rhyme)_is to_(rhyme)_. Good luck, and have fun!

    You can always do a short one like Kare did too. πŸ™‚

  6. Oh, I misunderstood. No wonder I couldn’t come up with any. πŸ˜‰

    I think there’s a reason my word verification is “dhorjk”.

  7. You weren’t that far off Karen, and I liked your “blog the dog”, we’ll just call it a nickle rhyme! πŸ™‚ Funny verification though . . . hee hee hee ( no, I am not saying you are a dork, I’m just having a good chuckle) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

