Dancing in the Kitchen

I finished teaching my last piano lesson at 6:30. Definitely a mac & cheese night I headed into the kitchen to see how Paul was coming with dinner. As happens frequently he grabbed my hand spinning me around on the linoleum and we danced across the kitchen floor. I love to dance. We would love to take a class together some day, but for now we practice in the kitchen. Our favorite is the swing. We even will sing our own music if there isn’t any on at the time. The kids scamper in and sit at the counter with big silly grins on their faces watching us dance.

I remember grinning like that when I watched my parents together. It was the grin that I knew my parents were hopelessly in love with each other. It brings me joy to see that grin on my girls faces. I grin back before Paul whisks me into another spin. He flings me out and rolls me back in throwing me into a dip and I nearly topple to the floor. (He’s dropped me before, but mainly because I am being too goofy) We dissolve into laughter. The kids are laughing too, but they don’t know why, they just feel the joy we feel.

Paul and I continue to dance and talk in the kitchen while the kids eat their dinner at the counter, because it is late and bed time is around the corner. As we dance Paul gives me a kiss. Dorothy wants to be sure we are listening to something she has to say. “Daddy, quit kissing mom and listen!”

At least they know we love each other, which is one of the greatest gifts we can give them.

5 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Family, Love and Marriage, Memory, Parenting, Things Kids Say

5 responses to “Dancing in the Kitchen

  1. I have to admit, this post was so sweet I actualy felt a little sad that my Paul doesn’t dance and doesn’t want to.

    Good thing I still know he loves me!

    My in-laws are still like that; not dancing around -they aren’t dancers either- but all kissy and affectionate. Every time they go somewhere they send us postcards of their honeymoon, and still sometimes refer to the other as “girlfriend, boyfriend, lover.” It’s the best gift parents can give their children.

  2. Mike once grabbed me for a dance in the middle of a BiWay store. Now, I am not a goofy person and I was mightily embarrassed. But you know, that man does me good. Even if we don’t dance in the middle of the store anymore. We will kiss and hug in the kitchen and Ben sidles over calling “Family Hug!” and that’s okay by me. (I could have done with some of that when I was a kid.)

  3. I remember my parents being like that. The didn’t dance, but I’d often catch them kissing, or a lingering goodbye kiss as my dad would leave for work. I grew up KNOWING my parents loved each other, and they loved us too. My husband’s family isn’t quite as affectionate. It was weird when I first married into the family, I’d give hello hugs, and goodbye hugs, and you could tell they weren’t comfortable with it. So its been a real struggle to try to incorporate that into our own family. But we’re working on it. I think its VERY important for children to see that their parents love each other.

  4. i don’t really have anything that relates… but i’m glad this is your children’s experience.

    i might’ve gotten a little teary even. but… i’ll deny it later. and it wasn’t sad… just… you know… outside looking in kind of thing, and being moved by the view.

  5. I have to say that reading this reminded me of Paul at Ricks. We were such good friends, and would goof off ALL the time… dancing, dipping, “doing” fun lifts… My mom was visiting for Mom’s week, and we ewre hanging out with Paul outside his apartment. We decided to show my mom just how odd we were, I guess. Paul tried to dip me and hit my head on the wall… HARD. I still have a bump there, thanks to him.

    Glad to see he still dances and such… I just hope he doesn’t drop you as hard! 🙂

Leave a Reply

