“Oklahoma!”

Signs were posted all over the halls for the school musical, “Oklahoma!” Many of my friends had auditioned and found parts in the musical; I preferred to remain behind the scenes and stayed in the pit orchestra. We worked long and hard, rehearsing parts, building props, and practicing. The night of performances arrived. We were so nervous and excited, but we knew it was good. Two weeks, 5 nights, of performances. The final night was the best, it always is. Some one put a “dino-roar” in the butter churn and it was roaring every time Aunt Eller pushed down. I can’t even remember half of the jokes we played. That was 13 years ago; I was a junior in high school.

I sighed into my chair this evening, finally having battle the last child to sleep and finding poor little Jacob had fallen asleep in his highchair while munching on the last of his cheerios. Needing some time to vegetate I turned on the television. Nothing looked even remotely interesting so I began to hop channels.

You expect to find a number of things on TV, but I never expected to find this. There right in front of my eyes on some obscure channel was my best friend dancing across the stage! It was as if she’d never left high school. Wait! She was in high school! For some odd reason someone was airing our high school musical, “Oklahoma!”

“Were we really that out of tune?” I ask myself, laughing and cringing as the French horn blares off key. I evaporate into laughter, transported back into time. The camera job is out of focus in places, the acting is anything but great, and the singers never would have made it onto “American Idol”, but I find myself enjoying it more and more, submersed in memories, watching friends I had almost forgotten. A sort of comedy of errors, I enjoy every out of tune note.

5 Comments

Filed under Memory, Music, Personal History, Youth

5 responses to ““Oklahoma!”

  1. OOOOOOOOOOOOKlahoma where the wind comes sweepin’ down the plain

    heh.

    wish i could have seen the play. the best high school play i ever saw was in richland, washington- joseph’s coat of many colors…. and what was so great was the miscues, and flub ups, and stuff.

    we call it well done when everything goes off without a hitch, but i disagree. it’s the chaos that makes the ordinary rememorable.

    i’m just sayin’…

  2. So, was this a high school in Portland? Could that be the reason why you found it on tv? Seriously, that just blows my mind, but seeing the Oratorio that was done my 2nd year at Ricks on BYUTV blows my mind every time I see that too.

    I’ve never seen a high school play. My high school wasn’t big enough to even have a drama department! I did see Oklahoma at my mom’s old high school when we were in Utah once. And I saw a tour company do GREASE at Kennewick High School. Thats it.

  3. I am living in the same town I went to highschool in right now and I think it was government access channel, so it makes sense that they would play a musical from my school, but why one from 13 years ago – it just blows my mind!

    Oh – and ff- you are so right 🙂

  4. actually… i think the play was josephs technicolor coat. um, i don’t really rememeber the details. just that i was still young enough to recognize how hot “joseph” was in his toga like costume. hehe

  5. FF the real name would be Joseph and the Technicolor dream coat… I was in that one once 🙂

    My hubby has tapes of every single play he was ever in. We actually go back and laugh at his scrawny self!

    Between the two of us we have been in Brigadoon, Joseph, Hello Dolly, Music Man, Fiddler on the roof (2 times for me, once for him), Red Riding Hood, Christmas Carol, Charlie’s aunt, Romeo and Juliet, Babes in Toyland… and those are just the ones I can remember off the top of my head! 🙂 If your town doesn’t have a drama department, Start one! You will have memories forever!!!

Leave a Reply

