Happy Valentine’s Day

Passion
(dedicated to my hubby)

How does one describe
Emotions of the heart?
Words, insipid, fail to capture
The ardor with which I love.

Nor can it be painted with
The finest brush in hand.
Colors dull with time,
So opposite my passion.

What resemblance to
Nature could I possibly compose?
The most majestic mountain or
Delicate rose sallow in comparison.

As time erodes the most formidable citadel
Devotion, secured in the
Fortress of my heart,
Will crescendo through enternity.

-J.H. Schmidt

4 Comments

Filed under Love and Marriage, Poetry, Writing

4 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. beautiful, julia.

    it reminded me a little bit of pablo neruda. i think because you bring nature into the picture, and find love there also.

    i think that’s why. or maybe i don’t know why. maybe your poem reminded me of him just because…

  2. FF- You got me curious so I looked him up. I really liked some of his stuff, he is very good isn’t he? I don’t think the comparison between our poetry should go much beyond the nature aspect, etc. he is that good, and I merely a novice who pretends she can write. But hey it is all in fun and for the love of writing. I thank you sincerely for your compliment. 🙂

  3. the following is my very favorite of his.

    sonnet xvii

    i do not love you as if you were the salt-rose, or topaz,
    or the arrow of carnations the fire shoots off.
    i love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
    in secret, between the shadow and the soul.

    i love you as the plant that never blooms
    but carries in itself the light of hidden flowers;
    thanks to your love a certain solid fragrance,
    risen from the earth, lives darkly in my body.

    i love you without knowing how, or when, or from where.
    i love you straightforwardly, without complexities or pride;
    so i love you because i know no other way

    than this: where i does not exist, nor you,
    so close that your hand on my chest is my hand,
    so close that your eyes close as i fall asleep.

    … when i find the person that poem fits, i know i’ll be home. if that makes sense.

  4. That is very beautiful. I really like it, to be able to write something so amazing would be divine. Thank you for sharing it with me, I shall shuffle it away with my favorites. I still struggle conastantly with getting my emotions transformed into words espcially in an original and creative way One of my very favorite poets is Tennyson. . . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

