Curse of the Brussell Sprout (or Mystery of the Pea)

We had a huge garden growing up, an acre maybe? I just remember it being huge. When we would talk about having a rock party, it wasn’t the kind with wild blasting music, dancing, and strobe light. It was derocking the garden. Walking through with wagons and pails plucking rocks out of the dirt in the early spring so Dad could till it and get it ready for planting. And oh the weeding. Mounds and mounds of weeds were pulled. I would ride in the wagon on top of the mounds of weeds out to the compost pile where we dumped them. Dad grew a number of things in the garden. I loved walking between the rows of corn that seemed to reach way into the sky. Unfortunately the one thing that he could get to grow the best apparently was brussell sprouts. Now, I hope I don’t offend any of you brussell sprout lovers (I am so sorry for you, hee hee), but my dad did not have a sense of smell or taste and thus did not realize how truly terrible these things were. Even my mother couldn’t handle them.

I remember my dad getting upset because his garden just wasn’t producing all the vegetables he thought it should be. The peas were the worst, the plants were always bare! He could never explain it. It didn’t look like animals were getting at them, the plants were virtually untouched, just no pods. But the brussel sprouts always did well and produced like crazy.

One day dad was in the hayloft and stuffed behind some bales of hay he found two paper bags. They were chocked full, up to the brim, with empty pea pods.

We didn’t have nearly as many brussel sprouts after that and the pea plants mysteriously began to produce again . . .

5 Comments

Filed under Farm Stories, Humor, Personal History

5 responses to “Curse of the Brussell Sprout (or Mystery of the Pea)

  1. brussel sprouts are the debil. lol

  2. It seems like every time Ben and I decide to visit my mother unannounced, she has just finished cooking brussels sprouts in the microwave. Ben walks around holding his hand to his nose for half the visit.

    I can handle eating brussels sprouts at Christmas dinner, because it’s tradition or something, but that’s about it.

  3. You’re Dad didn’t have a sense of smell or taste? Neither does Nathan or his dad! Well, they just don’t have a sense of smell, so their sense of taste is very limited. He only thinks I’m a good cook cuz he can’t actually really taste what I’m feeding him šŸ™‚

  4. he he he. Mystery of the Pea! Thats good. Ours would mysteriously disappear too. Though we didn’t have brussell sprouts, we had beets. I very much dislike those.
    I had brussel sprouts for the first time at Thanksgiving this last year. They didn’t really meet my fancy…

  5. I have to stand up in defence of the sprouts, if just barely cooked and still firm they can be very good. But beets, there’s no way to make them good.

    We grew peas (snow and snap) when I was a very young girl. But my mother taught us that those were for snacks, and she had no misconceptions that they’d ever make it to the suppertable. Oh I could go for some garden-fresh produce right now!

Leave a Reply

