Joyous Raucous

As Michael said in the comments on my last post, we created a joyous raucous at the airport today. All of us met to anxiously await the arrival of my parents at the airport today. Their flight was an hour behind and we were very grateful for the play area provided for children in the airport. We assembled our stands and instruments and glued our eyes on the check point at the appointed time. Craning our necks to catch the first glimpse of them coming down the hall. Finally my dad was spotted and we recieved our cue to begin.

We began to play “Come, Come Ye Saints.” My mom said that all of a sudden she realized that the music was “Come, Come Ye Saints,” and how could that be at an airport? Then she thought that maybe I had arranged a few friends to play. Then she saw me and to her complete astonishment, Lisa’s family, most of which was playing. Tears and laughs all around. A memory never to be forgotten. I would do it a million times over, just to see the look on their faces. I will get all blubbery if I continue. My parents are home, and I, I am in Utopia.

7 Comments

Filed under Family, Music, Religion

7 responses to “Joyous Raucous

  1. Wow! What a gig. What a memory. Enjoy!

  2. I can only imagine the joy you all (especially your parents) must have felt! Family reunion after two years:). How great for you to have your parents home.

  3. I am getting all weepy just thinking about it 🙂 My sister went to the Phillipines as well. What area were they in?

  4. Sorry, some one asked me the same question in the last post and I have been all scatter brained and forgot to answer, my parents served in the Church Education System, teaching music and many other classes at the institute. They served in the Manila mission.

  5. Oh, that’s beautiful! I wish I could have been there to see (and hear) it.

  6. wow! How fun. What it must have been like!?!?! How exciting for your parents and for you!

  7. what a sweet welcome home for your folks. i bet more than your family enjoyed it…

    and there were probably whispers of, “… why don’t you ever do that for me?” heh.

Leave a Reply

