Dot in a Spot in Front of a Pot

When it comes to colds and cough drops nothing can do the job like Ricola. They soothe the toughest sore throats and quiet bad coughs. For those of you unfamiliar with Ricola, they are an herbal cough drop, the active ingredient being menthol, with a combination of herbs used to soothe the throat, etc.

Paul recently bought a Costco sized box containing six packages in total. We put them in our bathroom knowing that our children had enough sense to stay out of them. The only problem was that we didn’t count on Dorothy. You would think I’d expect it by now, but I do try to give her the benefit of the doubt and strive to trust her. Paul walked into the bathroom this evening to find two empty Ricola packages. Upon questioning the children, Dorothy confessed she had eaten two entire packages! We grilled her.

“Did any one else eat any?”
“No.”
“Where are the wrappers?”
“In the garbage.”
“Show me.” She promptly showed me the scads of empty wrappers skillfully hidden below the plastic diaper packaging.
“When did you eat them? Did you eat them all today?”
“I ate one package yesterday and one today.”
“Does your tummy feel sick?”
“No.”
“Time out, put your nose against the wall until I figure out what to do.”
I think that was one of the first times she ever silently went to timeout, not an ounce of complaint was uttered.

Thank goodness for moms and that mine is back, I called her for advice. This time the gems of wisdom came from my father.

“Give her ipecac and make her throw up,” he suggested. “She will probably never do it again.”

I read the Ricola package double checking there wasn’t anything life threatening and read the ipecac directions. Then I talked to Dorothy explaining to her that because she ate something that could make her very sick we had to give her ipecac to make her throw up.

She went nuts; crying “I don’t want to throw up! I don’t want to throw up!”

We finally got her to calm down enough to force the ipecac down her throat, and some water following it, then set her down by the toilet to wait. She was miserable but finally did the job. Hopefully she has finally learned her lesson. I am just glad it was herbal cough drops and nothing worse. *sigh* I’m surprised she hasn’t turned me grey yet! The good news is that maybe she’ll bypass the nasty cold going around. Heh.

8 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Goofs, Parenting

8 responses to “Dot in a Spot in Front of a Pot

  1. WOW! That would scare me to death!

    I can’t stand the herbal cough drops though, something about the taste reminds me of the flavor of throwing up… I will stick with good ole’ Halls Mentholyptus cough drops thanks 😉

  2. Poor kid. Ipecac made her throw up? You should be thankful. I had to have my stomach pumped as a child when my sister and I shared a bottle of children’s aspirin (mmm, nice orange flavour). The hospital gave me a dose of something strong enough to make a 6 foot tall man throw up, but did it work on me? Noooo. I still remember hearing the nurse say, “I wish she’d stop screaming,” as they forced the hose down my throat. (Sorry, too much information? I won’t be offended if you delete it.)

  3. Karen, yup, thankfully it made her throw up. We used it for to teach her a lesson than for worry of her becoming ill. There really wasn’t anything in the herb drops that would cause great damage (nothing like aspirin) we just felt a need to teach her a lesson before she downed a bottle of aspirin (and we thought it would be godd just in case).

    Should I feel guilty for feeling slightly smug and delighted at the sight of her puking into the toilett? I’m not mean but . . .

    Anyway, it’s not too much information and I won’t delete it. I bet you never downed another bottle of aspirin though did ya? 🙂

  4. And that is why I love calling Poison Control. So they can ease my fears about such things. I actually haven’t had to use it much with Aiden (although I expect I will with Dallin!). Aiden had a friend over one evening, and she got into the children’s vitamins and ate who knows how many. She didn’t get sick from it, and the Poison Control person helped me not to frek out too much. Oh, and they said she didn’t have to take any vitamins for a week. Her dad came to pick her up just as I was on the phone with Poison Control. The next day at church, the big joke was “Don’t let Sariah babysit your kids. She poisons them.”

    Sorry, got long-winded. I do that a lot.

  5. That would be frightening! I have the poison control number on my fridge, as do most parents, and hope to never have to use it. I’m not naieve enought to think that with two boys it’ll never happen….. I do though, dread the day. Glad things worked out for you positively. I’m sure Dorothy won’t ever overload on Ricolas again.

  6. Ditto April! That would seriously have scared me to no end! What a suggestion by your dad! I never would have thought of that.

    I’ve never had to call poison control but my hubby did. We were all home and the kids were outside playing. They were picking crocus flowers. Well the two kids started eating the flowers. “S” paniked and called poison control. I think he stumped them. They wanted to know the exact brand and he went out looking for the tag. He came back in and they told him he had nothing to worry about. He hung up and tried desparately to drill into their heads not to eat the flowers!

  7. ok, i’m an idiot. what is ipecac?

  8. You are not an idiot, you’re just lucky! 🙂 Ipecac Syrup is a nasty thick medicine that makes you throw up. Very handy when children have eaten large ammounts of things they shouldn’t. :)–>

Leave a Reply

