Old

PS Hunt
Grab the Photo Hunt code.
Join the blogroll. Visit participants.

Parina Cota, Chile (Northern Atacama Desert, Andes)

Click on photo for a close up

A little history: The Atacama Desert is the driest desert in the world and ranges from the northern tip of Chile down to about Vallenar. I spent 1 1/2 years in this region serving a mission for my church. This is a very old community, consisting of an old church and a few houses, pictured here, that we stopped to see as we traveled to the northern most lake, Lake Chungara. As far as I know it is still occupied.
For a little more information (and additional photos) about Northern Chile you can read this previous post: Phenomenon.

(also, I posted late in the day last week, so if you didn’t see the pic and want to, just scroll down below the pics of my daughter and you’ll find it. Or you could just click on silly in the recent posts over on the sidebar, heh.)

28 Comments

Filed under Chile, Photography

28 responses to “Old

  1. those are actually quite interesting looking.

  2. That’s a fascinating picture….I love it

  3. Wow, love this photo! How interesting, really. Quite different. I love old buildings. And a lot of other old stuff πŸ™‚

  4. Looks very old – and deserted. I suppose the crowds don’t gather there very often. πŸ˜‰ Nice photo.

    My old is up.

  5. Amazing photo! Could you imagine living there in this day and time? It would be quite different from what we are use to! FOr me at least!

    Happy Saturday, Mine is up!

  6. I’ve seen some places like that, though I’ve never traveled to where this photo was taken. Very interesting.

  7. VERY interesting. It looks hot and dry. Have you visited there? What an amazing trip that would be!

    Thx for visiting my blog.

  8. Oh the history! Great picture for today! Mine is up too. πŸ™‚

  9. Great picture. I like to look at places like this and try to imagine what it would be like to live there. History is very cool. πŸ™‚

  10. Awesome picture! πŸ™‚

  11. Imagine us living in a house like that–no creature comforts. And I complain when the power goes out.
    Great photo.

  12. Thank you for sharing this little piece of earth with the community of bloggers. Wow – 1 1/2 in Chile – I admire you. My dream is to go to Asia for a mission. But I am not sure if God will give me the opportunity.

  13. Love the peek into another world. Thanks for sharing that with us.

    Mine’s up. Pam

  14. what an interesting OLD photo..thank you for sharing that. I love looking into other worlds through other peoples eyes..Mine is up too Stacie

  15. beautiful shot! I lived in Japan for 3 years and it gave me such an appreciation for life in the US!

    Thanks for visiting me!

  16. My idea of roughing it is b&w TV!
    Excellent pic.

  17. What a fascinating SPH! Did you enjoy sightseeing there?

    Thank you for visiting my SPH today. *s*

  18. Such a connection to an old way of life. Great photo for the theme.

  19. fabulous choice of “old”…looks like a pueblo from Arizona!!

    My saturday photo is up

  20. This is one of the best pictures I’ve seen today! I really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!

    My old photo is up too!

  21. That’s a beautiful photo! Thanks for sharing…

  22. Is this place still inhabited?

    Good photo. Mine is up too!

  23. Must have been incredible to be there! Beautiful photo.

  24. Really old huh! Looks like not a single soul is living there. Thanks for dropping by.

  25. I love old, weathered buildings. And against that blue sky! Wow.

  26. I’d love to see chile someday- nice picture.

  27. I love travel pictures! This one’s a beaut!

    Sorry I’m replying so late, I’m playing catch up!

    Have a great week!

  28. mar

    Oh, this is so very special to me since I am Chilean! thanks for the story too, your missionary work. I love it!!!! πŸ™‚
    And thanks for visiting my “old”, I am slowly catching up!

Leave a Reply

