Stagnant

Weekly Anamnesis #24

(the ‘he’ in the story is an acquaintance, no more, no less)

He was an amazing musician. I first made his acquaintance when I was taking French horn lessons from his uncle in highschool. He accompanied my Solo Ensemble piece, it was not an easy piece.Two years later I met him again, this time as a piano teacher. I was in need of piano lessons during my summer break from college. I learned a lot that summer, more than I had with any other teacher.

I didn’t see him again until after I was married and had Elizabeth and Dorothy. I was feeling stagnant and in need of piano lessons. Something to inspire me to practice, and a need to feel that I was working to improve myself in something other than mommyhood. Not that I didn’t love being a mom, I loved it thoroughly (and still do) but sometimes you just need that something extra for yourself. I began to take lessons again. I learned Rachmaninoff, Chopin, Maleguena, Dvorak, and Beethoven, just to name a few. I soaked up anything I could glean from his teaching and I loved the challenge, learning, and progression.

A few years ago it was time to take a break, a need for cutting back on the budget among other things. I have kept up my playing much better this time, and I have not become stagnant.

But he has, due to some poor decisions in his personal life. He sits stagnant in jail.

5 Comments

Filed under Anamnesis, Writing

5 responses to “Stagnant

  1. Wow. Similar passions, different roads in life. I bet you’re glad you took the road you did!

  2. well now, that is stagnant! sounds as if he could have gone a lot of places with his talent… how sad that something else took him away from that.

  3. I should mention, he chose a different path. He had a family, and chose to be a pastor at one point. He loved his music and was a fabulous teacher and even taught part time at a school, etc. But he threw it all away, leaving his wife and 7 kids to go it on their own. Amazing how some peoples lack of judgement can really have a life long impact.

  4. Leaving a family with seven kids in the lurch? That’s bad. How terrifying for the wife, I would imagine.

    I at least hope he is able to use his talent to perhaps make other prisoners’ lives more bearable.

  5. Deb

    Oh wow. I feel so sorry for the wife, but the children are the real victims; hope he can eventually pull himself together.

Leave a Reply

