Human Weed Whacker

I had absolutely no idea that one could actually get sore muscles just from weeding! I am so stinkin’ sore, and I didn’t have any crashes to warrant it, well . . .I had one crash, but that was after the fact. The awesome thing about my parents house, and the main reason we would want to buy it, is that it has a HUGE back yard. We are situated on a double lot, so we have a lot of play area in the back. The thing about this is that when you combine a huge yard with lots of garden/flowerbed space with a father who is a botanist you get tons of gorgeous beautiful gardens, EVERYWHERE. This isn’t a bad thing, I always enjoyed my Father’s yard . . . but combine 4 children (one of which is 15 months), a husband who barely has time to breathe when he gets home, let alone weed, etc., and a crazy mom who runs around like a chicken with her head cut off 3/4 of the time you end up with absolute garden disaster.

Nothing really bloomed this year because the weeds were so bad. I do enjoy weeding, but it’s hard to orchestrate outside projects with a less than 15 month old. Summer has finally hit and we have more sunny days rather than rainy ones which means I can finally get out in that yard (because Jacob can be with me in his play area). So Sat. I got started and weeded for a total of 6 hours! And the ammount I got done in that 6 hours is rather pitiful, if I took a picture and showed it to you now you’d say, “it took you six hours to do that small of an area?” But then you’d look at the mountain of weeds and say, “Wow! That only took you 6 hours!”

Today (after picking up the house and doing the dishes, going to the zoo, and tweaking my blog some more) I weeded for another 2 hours. I have barely made a dent when you look at the enormity of the yard. And I feel like I have become a human weed whacker, but for the time being I am having fun, exhausted and sore, but having fun. 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Every Day Life

7 responses to “Human Weed Whacker

  1. I’m still trying to get my garden planted. It’s been warm enough since early May, but I just don’t have the energy to battle the weeds this year! So my flats of plants sit sadly wilting in their original containers awaiting a moment of pure ambition on my part. I don’t see it happening any time soon!

  2. if you have a good attitude about yankin’ out weeds, then i’d say your children are pretty happy. (connect the dots)…

    😀

  3. Sometimes weeds are pretty. I’m just sayin’.

    Good luck with your garden! If I was there, I’d pop by to help.

  4. PC- We don’t have a veggie garden this year for that same reason, and well, I should have started weeding, say in March . . . heh. 🙂

    FF- 🙂 (aww shucks)

    Karen – hee hee, though I think 3 foot tall dandilions are going just a bit too far (even if they are adored by my kids). Oh, this also reminded me of the time when I was a little girl (say 7 or so) and my brothers took it upon themselves to inform me that Daisies were a weed. I was devestated, they are one of my favorite flowers. My Dad planted daisies in one of his gardens, and they are stayin’! 🙂

  5. Deb

    My garden flopped this year because we’re in a drought. *sigh*

    I feel your pain about the toddler, and hurting. Don’t you just LOVE it when you bust your buns all day and can’t tell much of a difference. LOL.

    As for the chicken, I’m headless most of the time. LOL

  6. When I was a kid if we ever did anything wrong my dad would make us weed. You could start using that on your kids 😉

  7. One of our chores growing up was weeding just like Feathersky said. We were often sent outside when we were in trouble to “weed the flowerbeds!”

    I’ve discovered I’ve been able to do a lot more in the yard this year than I have in years past. Sy was only a year old last summer it was very difficult. It will only get better, teach your girls what are weeds and what are flowers and have them help you out.

Leave a Reply

