Counting

Ok, so after that last post I had to post something positive. πŸ™‚ Yes the day was tough, but we had some fun moments too, and I got to go on a fun date with my hubby. I think the kids and I just needed a break from each other. πŸ™‚ I am extra excited for tomorrow. We are going to the Lion Heart Festival in Portland. It is a fundraiser put on by the Children’s Heart Foundation, all the funds the raise fun research for congenital heart defects. It is an amazing group and we are lucky to have a chapter here in Oregon. (If you would like a chapter in your state there are ways to form one, and it talks about how on their website, see the link in my sidebar.) The festival is for the whole family and includes a special parade lead by CHD survivors and their families. We were able to attend last year, and this year I get to volunteer.

So, even though there are tough days, where I get to feeling pretty rotten, I am so richly blessed I am amazed. A long time ago when I was going through a bit of a rough patch I started to make a list of all the blessings I could think of. My list is well over 200 items long now. I thought about that today after I blogged earlier and began to review that list. I was grinning from ear to ear in less than 10 minutes.

“When upon lifes billows you are tempest tossed, when you are discouraged thinking all is lost, count your many blessings, name them one by one, and it will surprise you what the Lord has done . . .” (from the LDS hymn book)

2 Comments

Filed under Heart, Philosophy, Religion

2 responses to “Counting

  1. my favorite song right now is, “bottom of the barrel”…

    “i keep on laughin’, to keep from cryin’, i keep on dreamin’, to keep from dyin’, i keep on tryin’, i ain’t gonna stop, you get right down to the bottom of the barrel, then you float back on top”

    sounds like you’re floating πŸ˜‰

  2. Glad your day went alright and that you got to go out for a date. Do you find that when you go out on dates, you spend most of the time talking about your kids? Matt and I always do that:). You can get away, and it’s good to get away, but I find they’re always on the mind! There’s no escaping them, not that I’d want to;).

Leave a Reply

