There are moments when . . . .

I want to rip my hair out in shear frustration, but then I realize I’d look really bad bald.

I think I was crazy to have children, let alone four of them, but then I realize how empty life would be without them.

I want to pound something really hard, and I am grateful for my piano and composers who wrote really loud, wild music.

I want to kick something, and then I realize that no ammount of pain in my foot will mask the pain in my heart.

I want to scream and yell and pound the floor, but I don’t think I could handle the humiliation of being hauled away to the looney bin.

I wonder if I am really flunking bad in the school called mommyhood, but then my kids do something wonderful to help me know I must be doing something good.

I wonder if my nature really is divine, and I feel rather worthless and frustrated and I realize it is time to go pray.

Sorry to vent . . . it is just one of those days when the kids are more than I can take. It’s not mischief, it’s out right temper tantrums (even my 7 year), screaming, and fighting . . . and it is only 10:30 a.m. I fear it is going to be a long day . . . So I am off to search for that silver lining, because there must be one there somewhere. 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Parenting

7 responses to “There are moments when . . . .

  1. Deb

    Must be in the air. . .my kids are rebelling too. I can really identify, especially about the foot stomping. I loved what you said about needing to pray, , ,

    Don’t worry about flunking “mommy school,” you’re doing a great job.

    Sometimes I get soooooo mad at my toddler, but then he smiles up at me with that look of unconditional love in his eyes, and it melts me.

    Great post! I can really relate!

  2. Shoot that is the “fun” of being a moomy, days where you want to tear your hair out. Hang in there!

  3. Just know that you have described my days perfectly. It’s those days where Ches left at 8:30 and I’m already counting down at 8:45 when he will be home from work (at 6:30). Good luck. The day will end eventually! And 10 bucks says you will all still be alive.

  4. I’ll be praying for you! I know how hard some days can be and I only have 2. I’m sure 4 can be double as crazy!

    Take care!

  5. Seriously, I contemplated all day about posting on my little Evan and his temper the last few days. Yes, prayer is exactly where I need to turn, for him and me! Hang in there and I’ll try to do the same.

  6. Sorry to hear of your bad day! Take heart in knowing you are not alone. I have had many days like that…and probably many more to come (unfortunately:( !). Hope tomorrow is better for you and your family.

  7. you know what’s amazing? even in your frustration, you were finding the silver lining. reread this. you always countered the negative with a positive.

    now… breathe.

Leave a Reply

