Giggles in the Morning

I lay awake this morning not wanting to get up, knowing none of the children were awake yet. I grabbed a book and began to read, a small luxery I can ill afford now days. I was lost in the pages when the sound of girlish giggles tempted me away from the pages. I looked up and saw my three daughters surrounding their dad on the bed. Their heads bowed together in secret plot making. Then the four of the burst into song, making me grin from ear to ear.

Elizabeth whispered to Daddy, “Let’s make her breakfast because it’s her birthday,” but I pretended not to hear. I smiled to my book as I listened to the four of them plan the menu and waited until I was fetched. I came out to the prettily set table greeted by more giggles and french toast, one of my favorites. Elizabeth gave me her first present of the day, a great big hug and kiss, my favorite kind. 🙂

I definitely like waking to giggles in the morning. 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Children, Lizy, Parenting

9 responses to “Giggles in the Morning

  1. Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a wonderful start to your day!

  2. Happy Birthday! That does indeed sound like a fabulous beginning to a fabulous day!

  3. awww how sweet! Happy Birthday!

  4. Deb

    Happy Birthday to a sweet friend. I hope you have many, many, more.

  5. Super sweet! Happy Birthday 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday! Your girls sound so sweet:)

  7. That is so dang cute! Happy Birthday!!!

  8. Oh, Bloglines was messed up and I didn’t see this post yesterday. I’m sorry I missed sending you greetings on the actual day. Happy Birthday!

    (Now I feel better about the poem I wrote on my blog. It’s not about you or anything, but I wrote it “for” you, if you know what I mean.)

  9. what a wonderful happy birthday morning. How fun and sweet.

Leave a Reply

