Ryan Shupe and the Rubber Band

Ever hear of them? They are awesome, awesome awesome! I had heard about them, and I had heard a few of their songs from time to time, but I had no idea how awesome they were until Monday night.

I have been to one non-classical concert in my life (other than the concerts at Ricks, I loved expecially when they brought “The Trenchoats” now named “The Coats” they are an awesome acapella group that I will write about some other day). When I was in highschool my brother had tickets to a “Yes” concert. His date had something come up unexpectedly and so he took me with him instead. It was my first and only major concert of that variety to ever go to. I never found a band or group that I like well enough to pay that much money for tickets. Well, now I have. 🙂

My brother and his family had tickets to go to the Ryan Shupe concert here in our little home town Monday night and found themselves unable to go. We became the recipients of 4 tickets to the Ryan Shupe concert with arrangements that Emmy could attend free if she sat on a lap. My brother even babysat Jacob for us so we could all go. Talk about fun for the whole family!

They are kind of a bluegrass/country/rock band (I really don’t know what they would classify as because I listen mainly to classical and yodelling, heh) with awesome fun songs, super clean lyrics, and packed with enough fun to get all the kids bouncing and singing along. The ammount of talent they have is awesome. I never cared a whole lot for this type of music, but over the years, mainly because my hubby likes it, I have started to like it more, but I have never found a group that I like this much. 🙂

Anyway we had an awesome night with the whole family (except Jacob, sniff. But he had a lot of fun hanging with his Uncle) and found an awesome group that the whole family loves. 🙂 Here is a link to their site and in the music and juke box section you can listen to some of their songs. You moms of young children have got to listen to “Two Year Old Attitude” It is an absolute hoot! 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Music

8 responses to “Ryan Shupe and the Rubber Band

  1. Sounds like a great time! Some of the slower songs remind me a little of one of our favorites, Alison Krauss & Union Station.

  2. Soooo much fun :)!I like concerts too, but have only been to 3 major name ones (Tragically Hip, Meatloaf & INXS)and a few small ones.

    Sounds like a wonderful family outing!

  3. Other than concerts at Ricks and the jazz concerts at U of Idaho (and, of course, classical music concerts), I haven’t been to anything else, either.

    I hear of Ryan Shupe and the Rubberband about a year and a half ago. I guess Ryan Shupe is a friend of a friend. My friend was all excited to see them in Sacramento last year and hang out with his old buddies. He said if you ever get a chance, go see this band. Oh, hey… did you know they are Mormon? Probably. But I just had to throw that out there.

    Tracy got to see Tragically Hip and INXS??? COOL!!!!

  4. Good for you! I’m always impressed when I hear about parents who enjoy it so thoroughly when their kids have a great time.

    To Love, Honor and Dismay

  5. Deb

    I’m a big jazz fan myself, but they have a great sound! My youngest was bouncing around the room while we listened to the clips. Glad you had a great time!

  6. Hey Julia,

    Did you remove a post? I thought there was one after this one… or am I going crazy here?

  7. April – your not going crazy, well, not yet anyway 🙂 I removed it because I decided I didn’t like how it was written, it just wasn’t working for me, so I’ll re-write it some other day. 🙂

  8. this music is right up my alley. (i like everything… mostly. heh.)

    thanks for sharing this group with us.–>

Leave a Reply

