Cah-Razy

That is what things around here have been like lately! šŸ™‚ Paul left early Thursday morning for Woodbadge (Scout leader training) and got home 9:30 in the evening on Saturday, so for another three days I wrassled the awesome foursome solo. It wasn’t to bad, but by Sat. night we had all hit burnout level, and I am afraid that he was greeted by a very grouchy wife rather than a chipper one. šŸ™‚ Thank goodness he only has one 3 more day training in Sept. and then he should be done. And at least two of the days he is gone kids will be in school. šŸ˜‰

I finally quit procrastinating yesterday and attempted to get the kids school shopping done. I guess I wasn’t really procrastinating as Paul has been gone. I decided to suck it up and just take everyone with me, how bad could it be?

I should have known just from the parking lot that the only Wal-mart in 30 miles would be inundated, but after driving all the way there, I wasn’t going to waste the trip. Thankfully there was a super-cart available where I could strap both Emily and Jacob in, but near impossible to manouver around the packed isles of supplies and sardines, err . . people. The school isle was fairly uncrowded, but it seemed the minute I set one timid foot across the line a silent alarm went off and I was in a human landslide being carried down the isle grabbing at things as I sailed by. Houdini boy decided that nothing was going to keep him strapped in, so while I was grasping depserately at the dissapearing school supplies I was trying to wrangle in the toddler as he climbed up my shirt and over my back, with Emily yanking on his leg trying to keep him from escaping. With a mad shriek he began missile fire with his sandals narrowly missing a few unsuspecting targets. Finally an hour (or at least it felt like it) and a quarter of supply list later I slowly limped to the check out stand, having been trampled by two minuture elephants when we finally found the rulers. Most of the supplies had long since been snatched up. Back to school shopping at Wal-Mart is not for the faint-hearted or procrastinator.

When I got home I pulled in the driveway at the same time as Paul and tossed him the children and zipped over to Fred Meyers. I wasn’t going to let the last of the supply lists escape me any further, and was filled with childish glee as I saw rows and rows of nearly untouched supplies. Each item was checked off quickly without any one being dive-bombed by children or sandals.

Now, I just need to track down a few clothing items and we’re done (but, hey, I figure they can start school with what they’ve got if I can’t find what I’m looking for). šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Jacob, Parenting

Leave a Reply

