Do You Hear What I Hear?

Do you hear that? There. Listen. Shhhh. Just a minute . . . . ooohhhh, silence. Blissful silence (except for the quiet fan of the computer). That is the sound of two kids at school all day and two kids in quiet time. I didn’t even put any music on; I just wanted to hear the quiet silence.

Elizabeth started 2nd grade today and Dot is in 1st. I walked them to school this morning and got my 3-mile walk in after. It felt sooooo good to get walking again. 🙂
My house is actually clean for longer than 5 minutes, and I don’t have to drag everyone with me to the store anymore. Celebration!! 🙂 Though I do miss having my kids around all the time, it is nice to have a break and be back on schedule. I feel so much more together. 🙂

While I would love to use more of this time to write, I need to straighten up my office. So in parting I leave you with one of Dorothy’s latest epiphanies:

I was sitting in my room folding laundry on the bed while the kids watched Sesame Street in the family room. Apparently they were talking about dinosaurs. I heard little feet coming down the hall and I looked up as she came into my room.

“Mommy, I know what extinct means,” she declares.
“What’s that?” I ask.
“It means there aren’t any more dinosaurs alive in this world anymore.”
“That’s right!” I exclaim.
“But mom,” she looks at me quizzically, “were there dinosaurs on earth when Adam and Eve were here? Because, they didn’t eat Adam and Eve!”

That girl will always keep me on my toes! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Humor, Lizy, Parenting, Things Kids Say

7 responses to “Do You Hear What I Hear?

  1. Isn’t school great?! I will be in the same boat on Thursday when our school starts up again. Riley in grade 2 & Carson grade primary … and I will only have Dominic at home!

    I agree with you in that I do enjoy spending time with my boys, but when that school time rolls around … joy oh bliss … I also enjoy a break from the craziness when they are home.

    Enjoy the silence!

  2. My best friend that moved from Portland to Upstate New York mother of 4 also had her kids starting school today. She has been looking forward to this day for weeks. I’m sure she sat just enjoying the silence today too. 🙂

    Wow, questions like that from Dorothy give me panic attacks! Will I be able to answer questions like that when my child is older?

  3. Nap time for my youngest (3yo) on the first day that all the others were finally back in school was utopia, paradise, absolute bliss. For about the first 15 minutes. Then I missed the chaos! But being able to keep a room clean for more than 5 minutes at a time IS nice…

  4. WELL…? What did you answer?

    YAY for school! It is in anticipation of that quiet (still many years away) that makes me hope we move to an area with a decent public school — there’s no silence in homeschooling!

  5. PM – After smothering my giggles I answered that God created the dinosaurs and yes they were most likely there at the same time as Adam and Eve and that in the Garden of Eden all the animals were nice to each other and didn’t eat each other, or Adam and Eve. Then I told her that after Adam and Eve left the Garden of Eden the dinosaurs were probably in a different part of the world so Adam and Eve still didn’t get eaten. 🙂

  6. good answer 🙂

    I hope you enjoy getting back on schedule! Also, enjoy your walks!

  7. I’m enjoying the return to routine that the start of a new school year brings. Soon enough the whining about homework will begin, but for now…bliss.

Leave a Reply

