Phone Call

“Hello?” I asked into the reciever as I placed the phone to my ear.
“Is Edna there?” and older male voice asked.
“No one lives here by that name, you must have the wrong number,” I stated.
“No, wait, I think I have that wrong, is this –‘s residence?”

Instantly my gaurd went up, “Yes,” I said hesitantly trying to judge from the voice who it was and what the intentions were.

“Is this her daughter?”
“Who is this please?” I asked growing slightly alarmed, especially with all the identity theft happening now days.

“This is — –. I found your mother’s purse on the side of the road, in the Payson area, up toward Nebo.”

I was completely confused, my mom was in Utah, getting ready to go into the MTC with Dad and prepare for their next mission in Florida, but how did some guy get her purse?

“She lost her purse?” I asked trying to clarify the jumble of words and thoughts in my head.

“Yes, and we are trying to return it. As soon as we got to where we had cel phone coverage I called. ” He paused and then said, clearly uncomfortable, “I had to open it to find a telephone number, I just looked at her checkbook. Is she staying somewhere here in the area?”

“They are staying with my sister in Payson.”

“– — (name)? She has a list of phone numbers here, is — — the right number?”

“Yes it is. Can I have you name again and number too in case I get a hold of them first?”

He was very obliging. I thanked him time and time again for being so honest and caring. After talking with my sister a few hours later, they (the gentleman who found the purse and his wife) had immediately driven to her house in Payson and left the purse with her (my sister’s) husband, all things in tact. I had told him they were entering the Missionary Training Center (MTC) on Monday and he knew they would need it right away.

My parents and sister and kids had been searching everywhere and praying to find it, not knowing how on earth it would have fallen out of the van. They were still searching when they finally got word that it had been returned to the house.

It’s just good to know that there are people like that in the world.

Miracles still happen. πŸ™‚

13 Comments

Filed under Every Day Life, Family, Miracles, Religion

13 responses to “Phone Call

  1. That’s awesome! We had a similar situation last week. Someone found my husband’s wallet and returned it fully intact. Thank goodness for honest people!

  2. That is a beautiful story. You just don’t hear enough about good honest people – because they are out there.

  3. J

    It’s hard to remember sometimes that the majority of people are good, it’s the bad ones that we have to fear so much and get all the press. Thank God she got her purse returned. Now how DID it fall out of the van? πŸ˜‰

  4. That is a great story! I had something simmilar happen to me. My first job as a teenager I had to ride my bike to work and one day I lost my wallet in the way to work. One of my classmates found it and returned it to me. It was a busy street so the chances of someone that I knew finding it was slim.

  5. The last time I got a call like that was when a bank was calling looking for my ex husband. He owed about $20,000 on his credit card and they were trying to track him down. Thankfully we weren’t together anymore.

  6. Wow – what a great story! It makes you have faith in the world.

    Thanks for stopping by my photo hunt – very interesting sky in your pic!

    Kelly

  7. That IS awesome… Praise God!

  8. With all the bad that’s happening in our world today, it’s great to hear about some honest, good people, doing good things.

    Thanks for sharing this story :).

  9. Wow, that could have been scary and it ended up being great! Hooray!

  10. I can understand how scary that phone call would be to receive at first before you figured out what was going on. It’s so great that it all worked out, though.

  11. That could have ended in a very scary phone call. I’m so glad it turned out so well. Things like that do happen, it’s just few and far between that we actually hear about them.

  12. Deb

    OMG, you’re mom was so lucky! Thank God, literally, for those two sweet, honest people.

Leave a Reply

