Things That Make a Mother’s Heart Pound

I walked in the door this evening and greeted my babysitter. My hubby is out of town again this weekend and so I got a baby sitter so I could go to the General Relief Society broadcast for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. As I visited with the babysitter about the evening she mentioned that she thought Jacob might be sick. He had been really cuddly, tired, didn’t eat much and felt warm.

I bid her farewell and went to take Jacob’s temp. I hated that nervous feeling as I walked into his room to look into his crib, it felt too similar to the events early on in his life, and I was glad to see him fine and smiling at me as I said his name. I expected a slight fever, 99, 101 maybe. He, nor any of my kids but one on one occasion had ever had anything higher. I was greeted by a whopping 104.2! He was perfectly fine this morning, active, rambunctious even, no sign that he wasn’t feeling well, and now all of a sudden a high fever. Thank goodness there don’t appear to be any other symptoms along with it. His breathing is fine, he doesn’t appear to be congested or in pain. Just fighting off a high fever.

I’m sure it’ll drop (I gave him some tylenol) but it makes me nervous all the same, especially with hubby out of town until late tomorrow night. I’ll just sleep a lot more comfortably once his fever has gone.

10 Comments

Filed under Children, Heart, Jacob, Parenting

10 responses to “Things That Make a Mother’s Heart Pound

  1. I’d be nervous too. I hope his fever does go down quickly and that he is all better soon! Poor little guy!

  2. Deb

    Oh man, I know that feeling all too well; I’m the same way with my youngest.

    I’m thinking of ya and hope your sweet Jacob is better soon.

    Just a thought~~Could it be an ear infection?

  3. Or maybe teething? Mine always spiked high fevers with their teeth.

    Whatever it is, hope it passes quickly!

  4. He wasn’t pulling at his ears or crying, didn’t seem in pain, but he typically doesn’t. He has never spiked such a high fever when teething or with ear infections (and he’s had quite a few of them) but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t. He has a well child on Wed. so the latest we’ll go to the dr. would be then.

    His temp dropped a lot after the tylenol and this morning it was only 100.9. If he is still running one tomorrow I’ll take him in to check the ear infection angle. We’ll see. 🙂 Thanks for your thoughts and support guys. 🙂

  5. Aww, poor little one. I do hope he’s feeling tons better.

  6. Hope your son is getting better. Not fun when they are sick! Thanks for visiting my SPH yesterday. I’m finally just making my rounds now! 🙂

  7. Poor little Jacob :(. I’ll be praying for him to feel better, for his fever to go down and for strength for you!

  8. Glad the fever is not as bad now. I know what it’s like when your husband is away and a crisis happens. It’s just so much easier when there’s two of you to divide the worry.

  9. Catching up and hated to read about little Jacob and praying he’s feeling better now.

  10. TC

    I hate when little one’s get a high fever and that is really high. It would have scared me too. I am glad there are no other symptoms and I glad that his fever went down afterwards.

Leave a Reply

