Grrrr

I am sitting with Emily watching Sesame street. We have reached a sad point in society where Sesame Street has to parent America’s children by having Cookie Monster teach them about the importance of fruit. They had a whole little skit with Cookie Monster being interviewed because he ate a bowl of fruit rather than a cookie. Of course, he did eat the cookie in the end for dessert. I wondered why this whole thing bugged me, and then I realized what bugged me was it feels like people need a scape goat for the obesity problem and Cookie Monster and other things are it.

Can’t you hear it now, “I’m sueing cookie monster because all he ever ate were cookies, and that’s all I eat now!” Ok, maybe that won’t actually happen, but it seems to me that rather than blaming everyone and everything else for their problems people just need to take a good look at themselves. If my children are overweight because they are overeating or eating only junk food, it’s not anyone’s fault but mine. My kids love Cookie Monster, and they don’t eat 200 cookies in one sitting because we TEACH them.

Ok, I’ll quit rambling (venting, or whatever), πŸ™‚ I just miss the good ol’ Cookie Monster . . . I guess to me it’s the same as trying to turn Christmas into the nameless holiday, and producing Candy Corn in weird colors for every other holiday (see Sariah’s post), their messing with tradition.

I’m waiting for a character to be created name ‘Nobody’ than we can just keep blaming everything on him . . . heh πŸ™‚

10 Comments

Filed under Opinion

10 responses to “Grrrr

  1. so, do they make oscar move out of his sweet, smelly trashcan into a regular house so children won’t get the idea it’s ok to live in a trashcan?

    heh.

    political correctness is getting rediculous.

  2. I am just glad that they didn’t make Ernie move out of the apartment because someone said that he and Bert were gay. I agree though that it is dumb to have cookie monster teaching about fruit… I can teach my kids about fruit!

  3. Deb

    Great post, I agree with you 100%. I miss the “gold old days.”

  4. I guess once that woman sued McDonald’s for making her son fat, Sesame Street figured it better cover it’s butt. Sad isn’t it, that people can’t accept responsibility for their own children, or their own actions.

  5. I agree totally with GoffyJ’s and everyone else’s comments as well. Crazy world we live in these days, isn’t it?

  6. I read somewhere that this was in the works (remaking Cookie Monster).

    Ironically, I think overparenting is one of the things that is causing obesity in kids. No one sends their kids outside to play all day anymore. Everyone keeps a close eye on their kids, drives them to supervised play dates, keeps them inside most of the time.

    But kids kept inside have lots of pent up energy, and some of them are noisy (I am talking about “other people’s kids”). What do some parents do to keep a child quiet? Stuff food in their mouths. It’s sad, but I have seen it. You want to say, “Don’t put more food in her mouth (and please don’t give your two-year-old child all that soda pop!). Take her to the park!”

    What can you do?

  7. Poor Cookie Monster. No more cookies. That’s so sad.

    I had something more intelligent to say but my kids started screaming and crying and I forgot what it was. 😦

  8. the “happy red and white holiday” really burns we. What the heck is offensive about Merry Christmas! If you don’t want to say it then don’t, but don’t change the name of something that’s been my tradition.

  9. Pardon me for going against the grain…

    I’ve been watching a lot of Sesame Street lately. It’s still very rare that Cookie Monster doesn’t pig out on cookies and I have only seen the fruit episode once. I remember watching the fruit episode and thinking “well that’s nice.” Now, it could have been my state of mind, which I’ll admit was less-lucid than normal.

    I like that Sesame Street is taking more of a fruits-and-vegetables approach while letting cookie monster still eat cookies (but showing that he eats other things, too,) because our children are bombarded with advertisements for junk food.

    (I remember the fruits-and-vegetables push on Sesame Street as a kid, too, though not quite as prevalent. So it’s really not that new; I think we’re just more aware of programming now that we are adults.)

  10. Your right and it is rather nice in some ways. I didn’t watch it as a kid much (no TV) so it really caught me by surprise. It just makes me sad that a big portion of the reason that they are dong it now is because parents are failing to educate they children about how to make healthy choices. But as you said, there really is nothing wrong with the fact that he likes to eat other things besides cookies. πŸ™‚

    (I may have been feeling a slight bit grouchy that day too, we have had an interesting week.)

Leave a Reply

