Oh The Irony . . .

. . . or should I be scared?

I took each of the girls on a mommy daughter date today. Most of my conversations with kids were typical little kid stuff, but not Dorothy. We had a fun filled talk about what the appropriate age for dating is (one of her 1st grader friends apparantly has a boyfriend). Oh the horror! To talk to your 6 year old about boyfriends and such.

Apparantly, after she was home and I was out with the next daughter, she grilled dad. “When will I know I’m in love?” “How did you know you loved mommy?” And so on.

Upon arriving home from our date just now, I showed Paul the photo I posted today for the scavenger hunt of Dorothy sitting in the steering wheel of the car, with the title of “Dreaming”. He gave a chuckle, “Oh! That reminds me of something else she asked me about.”

“What’s that?” I asked.

“She asked, ‘Daddy, when will I be old enough to drive?'”

Am I ready for this?

3 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Humor, Parenting, Things Kids Say

3 responses to “Oh The Irony . . .

  1. What a mature little girl you have there! And only 6 years old!

  2. My almost four year old little boy has been asking “when am I old enough to…” questions too. He’s not even old enough for me to explain accurately why or how, it kills me!

    I can only imagine what you must have been feeling when Dorothy asked you and Paul those questions!

  3. i love the idea of mommy dates. that’s cute.

    i was drivin’ by four. i can point out about 7 wrecked fences to prove it. why are you holding that child back? LOL

Leave a Reply

