Another Miracle for Jacob

Paul’s parents were here for a visit over this last weekend, and the kids loved having their grandparents here (we enjoyed having them here too). πŸ™‚ Yesterday, after we had fed the kids lunch and sent them off to quiet time, we were sitting at the table chatting over BLTs.

CRASH!!! For a split second no one moved, Paul and I just gaped at each other knowing that nothing good could have come from that big of a crash. Paul bolted from the table charging down the hall way, with me just a little behind. He rounded the corner by the girls room, unsure of where the crash had come from, and then he heard Elizabeth crying, “Oh no! Jacob!” He ran past their room and rushed into Jacob’s room. All he saw was the large cedar dresser laying across the floor and a muffled cry coming from beneath it. “Jacob!” his bellow struck my very core as I raced into Jacob’s room and saw him trying to lift the dresser and pull Jacob out from beneath it. With a cry of alarm I grabbed the dresser and finished heaving it out of the way.

Paul held a screaming boy and tried to comfort him as I inspected him for damage. Girls rushed from their various locations crying and anxious to be sure he was okay. Grandparents came running. I don’t know what I expected, but I knew it couldn’t be good. I took him in my shaking arms and cradled him. All we found as we looked him over was a good sized bump on the back of the head and a small bruise on his forhead. No concussion, no broken bones, no major bruises that we could spot aside from the bump and bruise on his head.

I prayed again and again thanking Heavenly Father for yet another miracle regarding our son. With four children we have never had to worry about one of them toppling a dresser, but then, I suppose he is my first boy. πŸ™‚

10 Comments

Filed under Children, Heart, Jacob, Miracles, Parenting

10 responses to “Another Miracle for Jacob

  1. OM goodness … I held my breath while I read that whole post. He must have been using his quiet time to mountain climb! He sure is lucky he did not get seriously hurt …. miracle indeed! So glad he is ok.

    Now, Jacob, take it easy on Mommy & Daddy! Leave the mountain climbing for later years (if that!).

  2. Deb

    I’m glad Jacob is okay! *Ahem* Welcome to the gray-hair club, ran by mothers of active boys. LOL.

    My youngest keeps me on the move constantly.

  3. I’m so glad that Jacob is okay and now I’m wondering about the little device that came with Evan’s dresser in his room that screwed it to the wall – hmmm… maybe I should have done that!

  4. I am so glad he is alright! That could have been very bad indeed… I remember my parents devising a system that did screw my dresser into the wall, now I know why.

  5. Thanks you guys πŸ™‚ We definitely are going to bolt his dresser to the wall now. Deb – Jacob has given dad just about all of his grey hair πŸ™‚ I’m sure mine is a combo of Dot and Jacob, heh πŸ™‚

  6. yikes! I’m sure you needed that scare as much as I did this morning, just by reading it!

    HAPPY HALLOWE’EN! (Thanks, Jacob, for the little fright! Thanks Heavenly Father, for keeping him safe!)

  7. I’m so glad he is okay!!!

    I think that this little boy has a special mission here on earth. The Lord want him here. And Jacob’s willing spirit is a fighter that will endure any attempt otherwise.

    (Happy Halloween… let’s try to go the rest of the day without anymore “scares”!) πŸ˜‰

  8. Oh my gosh! Not good. Not good at all! I am glad to hear he is okay.

    Hope you guys all enjoy the night anyhow.

  9. Is it just me, or when Jacob gets hurt is your first thought, “is his heart ok?” After a big fall/crash, I always worry about Joseph’s heart, silly as it may be.

    So glad that he’s ok and only has a couple of bumps/bruises to show for his little-well big-escapade! Boys are crazy!!!

  10. That is one of my fears, that one of the boys will try and climb up the dressers. Luckily Evan with his gimpy arm is not a climber. Harry is the monkey in the family.

    I am so glad that Jacob is ok!

Leave a Reply

