Stress Comes in 1/2 Pints this Year

I never thought I would get to be on a first name basis with my children’s principal, let alone be called in for a conference with Dot’s teacher, and principal. As Paul and I went to the school, I felt like I was being sent to the guillotine.

Obviously we are working through some very stressful things lately. I don’t know what I expected as a mom, I knew that my children wouldn’t always make the right decisions, but I didn’t expect it to be this hard somehow. I want so badly for them to get a good start in life and learn now to make good choices that it kills me to be having such a hard time with my little 6-year-old. Situations like this really make you evaluate how you are as a parent and if there is something you have failed to do.

It is a challenge to remain positive, but I caught myself thinking as Dorothy wrote her 7th or 8th apology note in one week’s time, “Gee, if nothing else, her handwriting (and reading) will get really good!” I must say too that her teacher and principal are great and they realize that Dorothy isn’t a malicious or difficult child, but that she has just been making some poor choices lately, mainly out of curiosity.

Curiosity doesn’t kill the cat, it just gives moms lots and lots of gray hair . . .

3 Comments

Filed under Dot, Parenting, Philosophy

3 responses to “Stress Comes in 1/2 Pints this Year

  1. I am not looking forward to that stage. It is so simple right now.

  2. Deb

    Hey, happy late anniversary! I feel the same way you about you and all the other bloggers I’ve come to “know.” 🙂

    My oldest was good in school when he was that age; my youngest, on the other hand. Yeesh. . .they’ll have to give me a parking space at the school.

    Know where your coming from about the gray hair.

  3. Is your gray hair coming in in stripes yet?

Leave a Reply

