November Magic

I awoke yesterday morning, and this morning, to the most delicious thing: SNOW! Not much, just a dusting, but enought to turn traffic into a horrendous nightmare. The way they talk on the news you would think we had 5 or 6 inches dumped over night, but we have maybe half an inch scattered across the ground, if even that. But it is snow! Saturday we chopped down our Christmas tree and we’ve been decorating for Christmas.


(Our snowy and somewhat unkempt yard – this is a fraction of our yard, it is very large, very high maintenance and almost impossible to keep up with. I suppose that is what you get for trying to take care of a yard that belong to a Botonist – my Dad. heh)

So, here I sit looking out the window at glorious snow, Christmas lights winking at me in the background, a warm cozy fire burning in our wood stove, a mug of hot chocolate by my side, typing my blog. Now, that is magic. Yay snow. Yay Christmas. Yay. Yay. Yay!


This is our dog Susie. Jacob has yet to say his sister’s names, but he runs around calling “Susie!” all the time. 🙂

Elizabeth and Dorothy were so excited to walk to school in the snow yesterday, this morning, Emily got to join them as we walked down to the corner.

8 Comments

Filed under Children, Every Day Life, Family

8 responses to “November Magic

  1. Yay for glorious beautiful new snowfall! We were sure we’d see a snowfall while in Idaho for Thanksgiving but no such luck. There’s a chance we might get some snow here in ABQ this week though. Keep your fingers crossed!

  2. Yay for snow! I love snow too, although not to drive in. I also love how it tires out my kids when they go out to play in it ;)!

    We haven’t seen any snow yet. Despite what people think Canada does not have snow and cold weather all the time (at least not in Nova Scotia!)! We sometimes don’t see any snow until late December or January. My kids are still wearing light fall jackets to school … and certainly not winter boots yet! That reminds me … I should get our winter tires put on our van!

    Enjoy your snow! Too bad it’s not enough for a snowman :(!

  3. I hate what snow does to traffic. Kids love snow, though, and they want to be outside in it, and that’s a *good thing*. 😉

  4. I can’t wait to see what my son thinks of the snow. Oh and I bought him little boots. How cute!

  5. I am trying not to be jealous of the snow. Living in the Phoenix Metro area means NO SNOW.. 😦
    Beautiful pictures!

  6. It’s hard to get into the holiday spirit when the temp outside is 70^!! A cold front is supposed to come through here tomorrow and then it’ll be back in the 40’s. I’m going to miss the 70’s really soon 🙂

    Those are great photo’s! Beautiful kids!!

  7. Deb

    I miss the snow. We haven’t had any since 80.

    Great pictures!

  8. The first snow is so magical. I’m trying to control my envy and just be happy that you and your children are enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

