Jacob’s Hair Cut

Though certainly adorable his curls were, I was worried we were starting to get to the stage of, “Oh! What a darling little girl, just look at those curls!” I had done two very minor trims, but this was going to be a bit more of a project. Armed with a pair of scissors, comb, water, my haircutting book, and “Winnie the Pooh” I strapped him in his chair and plunked him at the end of the kitchen area where he could stay somewhat distracted by our favorite tub of fluff.

For a first time job on a wiggly toddler, I can say I didn’t do half bad. It’s a bit uneven in spots, and I had a terrible time getting the top shortened up right, since it just kept bouncing back into its adorable tight coil. I might straighten up a few things once Paul is home and can hold his head still. The closest comparison I can make is this: put a curly wig on a bouncy ball, give it a good hard toss on the ground and then try to cut the hair while it is in motion. Yup. That just about sums it up. heh. 🙂

I was trying to take a picture of the boy, but he had different ideas in mind. He had grabbed one of the toy swords and came running over when he saw the camera, “Cheese!” But when I went for the photo he lifted his sword and gave a warrior’s yell. I only wish I had been zoomed on his face at the moment, and had gotten all of him, waving the sword in the air. You can see a bit of it in the top right corner. 🙂

I couldn’t pass up this photo. He stuck on this viking helmet (it is supposed to have horns, but they keep dissapearing) and was waving his sword about. I just love how he is peaking out on the hole.

7 Comments

Filed under Children, Heart, Jacob, Parenting

7 responses to “Jacob’s Hair Cut

  1. Great pics. The haircut looks really good.

  2. Looks great ~ I really do know how hard it is to cut hair on a bouncy toddler’s head!! Not easy, but looks like you did a very good job! Love those curls in the back :).

  3. Aww those were sweet curls. They look very much like Harry’s curls. I am going to let him keep his curls for as long as I possibly can stand it since they get so many compliments. I don’t care if people think he is a girl, I love curly headed little boys.

  4. The good thing is that those are the curls after I cut his hair, it actually ended up accentuating his curls even more. I am so glad, because I love those curls. 🙂

  5. I love those curls!!! Reminds me so much of Evan – he loves his swords.

  6. Deb

    Loved the “bouncy ball” comparison. You really hit the mark with that comment.

    You did a wonderful job; he looks adorable.

    BTW, You all would get all SOOOO well with my hubby and sons; they’re HUGE Star Wars fans. I like it pretty good, but afer watching EVERY episode around twenty times each. . . I used to have a monster crush on Luke when I was a kid. 🙂

  7. Wow, that’s a lot better than I could ever do. Love that curly hair, though.

Leave a Reply

