Christmas Eve

When I was a little girl I have fond memories of our Christmas Eve traditions. My parents would gather us all together and each of us would be assigned some part to play as we acted out the Christmas story. Mom was always the narrator, reading from the Bible the story of Jesus’ birth. It was always followed by fun treats, singing, and sometimes even a few presents as brothers and sisters exchanged. I had always hoped that when I married my husband would be eager to carry on this cherished tradition.

Paul was not only willing, but eager, though it took some time for our family to grow enough to even get Mary, Joseph and the Angel covered. This year, even though some of our troops weren’t feeling well, the children excitedly got ready for the play and donned their costumes. Elizabeth was Joseph, Emily was Mary, Dorothy was the angel, and Jacob switched back and forth between shepherd and wiseman. 🙂

Here are just a few of my favorite photos:

The Angel Gabriel Appearing to Mary

Mary and Joseph (I’m not quite sure what that expression is on Joseph’s face, I’ll take suggestions for captions on it though. It sure cracks me up.)

Our Little Shepherd

Joseph doesn’t quite know what to make of Mary kissing the Shepherd…

The Wiseman visits Mary and Joseph….”Here Mary, take it. Take it!” (That’s all I could think of for this pic, which made me laugh too, I’m sure you guys can think of better ones, if you have any suggestions, drop them off.) 🙂

The Family Troop, except Dad, who is taking the pic.

A newer traditon for us, that will last as long as we have Santa at our disposal, is to have him come visit after the kids are in bed on Christmas Eve. Oh no! I just received a dreadful report, children all over the world will be so dissapointed. Hopefully they will get this resolved in time:

ELVES REVOLT! “ALL WORK AND NO PLAY.” SANTA IS TAKEN HOSTAGE!

Santa & Elf Pirate

4 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Em, Family, Jacob, Lizy, Parenting, Religion

4 responses to “Christmas Eve

  1. I love the play — what a great tradition!!! The only caption that I can think of for the Joseph expression is “Really?? You want me to be Joseph? We all know I’m the Angel around here!”

  2. Deb

    Aww. They look adorable! Happy New Year!

  3. What a wonderful tradition! Your kids look so cute all dressed up and sounds like they did a great job in their roles.. My favorite pic is of Mary trying to kiss the Shepherd ~ so adorable.

  4. I love traditions and yours is a wonderful one! Those pictures are great, made me laugh out loud:).

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

