My New Year Post (a little late)

Often I have sat down with the hoardes at the beginning of the New Year and have jotted down resolutions that I knew would never be completed. This year I just let the year slip in quietly. I didn’t write resolutions, and tell myself that this year I was going to do such and such every day. Goal setting is not a bad thing, it is a very good thing, but sometimes my goals are unrealistic, call for perfection and throw me into guilt when I fail to perform them without fault. I did however make one resolution: a concious decision to improve and make this year better than the last. Shake out the rugs of routine, and through open the windows to let the sunshine in and freshen up my spirits, maybe even dust off a few forgotten dreams. A fresh new start on a fresh new year….

Awake
(written in sapphic stanza; a poem for the new year and many other things)

Sunshine come and romp with me, chase the storm clouds
from my face that shroud me in shadow. Wake my
heart and spur my dreams from among the grave of
negligence. Silent

too long, I have wandered in circles waiting
for your warmth to enter my shuttered soul and
stoke the fires of passion and aspiration.
Why have I wandered,

silent, waiting? Can I not open windows
to my soul and chase away gloom that festers
there? Awake my soul and renew the dreams that
once were dead. Awake!

-J.H. Schmidt

(I’ve been playing with creating headers to fit the mood I am in, or my blog is in. Thus the reason for a bit of change today…) 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Every Day Life, Philosophy, Poetry, Writing

3 responses to “My New Year Post (a little late)

  1. cara

    this may be my favorite poem of yours julia. it also reminds me of a song “why so downcast, oh my soul” or something like that. they aren’t similar at all, so it must just be the soul references. heh.

    i think it’s a good attitude to have- chosen to awaken your dreams rather than waiting for them to be awakened.

    this is going to be a good year. i hope for all of us. i can just feel it.

  2. I felt the same way about the new year, I refused this year to make any resolutions that I could not reach. My main one was also to have a happier disposition and to look on the bright side more often.

  3. I haven’t read your archives – do you write a lot of poetry? It’s very good!
    I like your new digs!

Leave a Reply

