Daddy, Throw Me In!

In our church, children are baptized by immersion (submersed completely below the water), at the age of 8 years, when they know right from wrong, and can remember the special day.  Elizabeth is fast approaching her 8th birthday and is becoming quite excited about the upcoming event.  One of her friends was baptized two Sundays ago and we took our family to attend. 

On our way home she was excitedly discussing who she wanted to baptize her, Daddy or Grandpa.  Finally when Elizabeth managed to pause for a breath, Emily piped up with her opinion of how she would want her baptism to be:

“When it comes time for me to swim, I want Daddy to throw me in!”

Paul and I dissolved into giggles (and no more serious discussion could take place after that).  heh 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Children, Em, Humor, Lizy, Religion, Things Kids Say

6 responses to “Daddy, Throw Me In!

  1. Oh my goodness, that is hilarious!

  2. That is actually so sweet!!! I love it!!!

  3. How funny!!!

    When I was 8 my Dad baptized me in the Flaming George Dam because that is where the Ward campout was. My older, wiser, sister told me that there were piranhas in the water there, and then as we were walking into the water my Dad joked, “I hope I can remember how to swim.” I thought he was serious, so the only thing I really remember about my baptism is that I thought I was going to drown and then be eaten by piranhas. 🙂

  4. That’s cute. I just got baptised as an adult last year by my much shorter pastor. I thought she was going to drown me, but it all went well.

Leave a Reply

