He Takes a Licking and Keeps on Ticking

Some kids just have all the luck – good or bad.  I’m reminded of a nursery rhyme that my mom would recite to tease me from time to time:

There was a little girl who had a little curl
Right in the middle of her forhead.
When she was good, she was very very good,
And when she was bad, she was horrid.

I could use that to describe a few of my kids from time to time (one in particular, heh), but today it applies to Jacob. Not that he is getting into mischief or anything. He will fly through a number of months, completely unscathed, happy go luck, and good. But when it finally hits, it hits hard, poor tyke.

We were at the doctor today to get his Synagis shot and check up on his finger. The finger was looking pretty good and so he graduated from the smiley faces and brace to a regular band-aid (Provided he can keep the thing on) and we were told to keep it as clean as possible and keep an eye out for infection. The he got loaded in both legs, screaming bloody murder the whole time. After the shots he kept jerking his legs away from the nurse while she was trying to put band-aids on them. Poor guy. Well, then we went to visit some friends. They have stairs, but I wasn’t worried, Jacob has been doing stairs for a long time.

We were visiting when we heard a huge thud and Jacob’s ensuing wails. I went running and found him laying on the floor face down at the bottom of the stairs, with a huge lump on his fore head. I don’t know how far he fell, but the poor guy has just been taking a pounding lately. One would almost think he took after me or something…

3 Comments

Filed under Children, Jacob, Parenting

3 responses to “He Takes a Licking and Keeps on Ticking

  1. Poor little guy. Hope he’s okay now. (Would it be bad to say I hope he doesn’t take after you?)

    Naw, that wouldn’t be bad. Heh, I kinda hope he doesn’t take after me in that way either!

  2. Aww, poor Jacob! You may have to start calling him Goofy J2, heehee.

    lol! It didn’t dawn on me until just now that he really would be Goofy J2… oh dear, I hope I didn’t just curse him. 🙂 heh

  3. Poor kid. I know what those days can be like. Harry fell off a chair at nursery and got a bloody nose. Boys are so much fun.

Leave a Reply

