De-frumping

A week or so ago I realized, much to my horror and dismay, that I had become that frumpy housewife that we all try so hard to avoid. It all started with the hair thing. I wasn’t aloud to do my hair, well, at least not put any product in it at all. If I couldn’t do my hair, there was no point in doing my make up – I’d look like some backwards alien with a made up face and disheveled hair. And since I wasn’t going to do any of that, then why bother dressing up, or even looking nice. For someone who can’t style hair, etc. the reasonable answer is to hang out in comfy clothes, you know sweats, pajamas, you get the idea.

The first day was rather freeing actually, I had so much more time after my shower, and I got to feel comfy ALL day. But after a while, and with out realizing it, I began to hide inside, and be embarrased if I got caught running errands at the store because I truly looked frumpy. But worse than looked it, I FELT it, and it drove me nuts. My house even began to get away from me a bit, funny how that happens.

Then I woke up one morning and thought to myself, “This is silly. There has to be some way you can do your hair and look nice without lathering it with moose.” (I had tried using moose again at one point and it worked fine for a few days, but then my scalp began to rebell again). So, I showered, cut down the Amazon growing on my legs (heh), lathered my self in yummy smelling lotion and blow dried my hair. All the time previous I hadn’t bothered, I had just let it air dry, ending up looking like a limp mop hanging about my head. After I was done drying it I was amazed to see that it settled very nicely, with some body and wasn’t limp or sticking out everywhere. I brushed it and tucked the short strands behind my ears. I had a stylish short layered cut that if I didn’t flip it out, it turned in and looked rather sophisticated. Then, I did my make-up and I looked even better (if I don’t I tend to look like I just rolled out of bed a few minutes ago, heh).

Suddenly I wasn’t feeling so frumpy anymore and I put on a pair of jeans and a nice blouse, and jewlery even. I felt GOOD! And, I got a lot more done that day too, not to mention I began to feel better, and when I stepped out to the store I stepped out with confidence.

I have even dressed up on days for NO good reason… heh. 🙂 (I do still relax and get comfortable from time to time, but I avoid the dumps of the frumps.)

So, I guess my point is, is that instead of giving up (like I did momentarily on my hair and all that) there is always a solution. We just have to find it. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Every Day Life, Philosophy

2 responses to “De-frumping

  1. I love the lesson in your story. For me it is with activity. If my [fill in the blank] hurts, and I don’t get any exercise on day 1, it is that much harder on day 2. If the days add up to weeks, then months, not only do I have more aches and pains, but weight gain, less accomplished around the house, my journal writing, scripture study, even personal prayer. slowly one by one, all go to pot. So I’m with you–get up, get dressed [decently] and do something!

  2. Good for you! When pregnant, as I am now, I tend to go towards the frump look. It is true, that you really do feel so much more productive and confident if you take some time and prepare yourself for the day. Funny how that is:).

Leave a Reply

