A Froggy Went a Courtin’ and He Did Ride, Uh-humm….

  I had been sick for a number of days and stuck inside with sick kids for even more than I could possibly count.  I was starting to feel closed in.  Paul and I were laying on the floor Monday night after sending the kids to bed talking over possible summer vacation plans and events of the day. 

Suddenly Paul sat up, “I think there IS a frog somewhere around here.”

His statement caught me off guard, as I had forgotten my conversation with him from a number of weeks prior that I swore I heard a frog ribbiting somewhere.  For a moment I thought he had read my mind when a few days earlier I was remembering my glorious frog-catching youth and bemoaning the fact the I knew of no good frogging places in the area and my kids were missing the sheer joy of catching a frog.

“What?” I asked, wanting to make sure that I had actually heard him right.

“Shhh, I want to see if I can hear it again,” he whispered. And sure enough a frog’s ribbit could be heard rather plainly in our living room.

Bringing up frogs to a convalescing mom who had a frog-catching youth and is longing for the great outdoors is not necessarily the thing to do, but the damage was already done, for you see, I had heard it myself now.

“There is a frog!” I exclaimed, “Let’s go catch it.”

Paul looked at me rather dubiously in my t-shirt, pajama pants and bare feet, but I was already creeping across the front room to the door and slipping out into the cool night air.  After listening for a moment, we heard not only one frog, but an entire chorus of them. i was growing very excited, but they still sounded to far off.  I moved to the end of the driveway, they were louder now, and Paul and I stood listening in the dark.

A woman on an evening walk passed by and we chatted with her about hunting frogs, and I am sure she though me a complete nut in my barefeet and smiley face pants, but I was on a mission (and just plain pleased to be out of the house and feeling slightly better for a change).  I looked at Paul and pointed down the street across from us, “It’s down there, come on.”

Paul  stood and watched me tiptoe across the road and down the side street, shaking his head and glancing back at the warm glowing light in our front window.  Finally humoring me, and no doubt hoping that he could speedily put and end to my frog-hunting escaped, he followed after.  The frogs were growing quite loud as we passed the first house in the corner, one in particular.  And by the third house we discovered it’s location.  Unofortunately it was carefully esconced beneath some dense foliage in an unknown neighbors garden along side the house. Paul even took a careful peek but it was well covered. 

he was a loud grand-daddy frog, starting up the chorus, the director really.  I thought about knocking on their door and asking if we could hunt for the frog in their flowerbed, but I had a funny feeling they might try to send me to the loony bin, and so I passed and returned to my warm home to defrost my toes.

But, every night I still hear that grand-daddy frog leading his chorus and one of these days I might just have to follow my urge …….  and catch it.

Though I didn’t get my frog we have flowers in our yard to make up for it (oh, and a rather peculiar little friend as well, I’m never seen one such little beastie this early in the year):

Crocus After Rain

Daffodil After Rain 2

Daffodil After Rain 5

9 Comments

Filed under Every Day Life, Nature, Photography

9 responses to “A Froggy Went a Courtin’ and He Did Ride, Uh-humm….

  1. What a funny frog adventure!

    Pretty flowers :)!

  2. You crack me up!
    I rarely seem to be in froggy areas, but I love a warm night when the stars are twinkling and the frogs are singing. These days all I get are sirens, but sometimes they, too, sing in harmony. 😉

  3. Oh, I love that froggy courting song. I’m pretty sure Burl Ives sang it in the version I’m thinking of. We have some water catchment ponds nearby and we are serenaded by frogs at night during certain times of the year. And then we have our resident frogs, one of whom we named Bob. I hope Bob comes back this summer. I don’t catch him though, I just photograph him. 😉

  4. We have frogs too! They don’t sing as much, but they like to sit on my patio in the cool summer evenings. I caught the first four I saw, then I just started taking pictures instead… Somehow it was not as fun when it is so easy to catch them 🙂

    I must ask though, what was that very icky looking bug on the flower? EWWWW! I am so not a bug person, and that one looks nasty!

  5. How fun! We use to catch frogs all the time in Alabama. Jaedin loves frogs! I don’t think I’ve seen any here yet. They probably don’t make a habit of staying around apartment complexes 🙂

    Those flowers are BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Is the bug a big bumblebee?

  6. You can’t just put up those beautiful flowers like that! Don’t you realize some of us still have winter? OK, so for me it was a couple days ago, today was lovely and the temps look to stay up the 50’s now, but your pictures made me suddenly yearn for spring! And frogs. As a little girl in Indiana, my first “pet” was a frog. I don’t think my kids have ever caught frogs…a toad and ugly tadpoles…no frogs. I think you should get to know the neighbor where the frogs hang out. Then you can go ask to catch the frog some night! 🙂

  7. Glad you had fun being a “kid” again while froggie hunting. 🙂 I used to catch tadpoles as a child but didn’t really get into catching the frogs. I loved hearing them croaking at night after big rainstorms too. I live in a city in the desert now and it’s extremely rare for us to hear frogs singing anymore. I miss it.

    I love the flowers too! My “garden” is all dried up. Believe it or not what few flowers I had got frozen. We had the coldest winder in history here and we were just not prepared I guess. I may have one rosebush that I might be able to resuscitate back to life. At least my orange and grapefruit trees aren’t dead…. yet. lol! But now we’ve gone from coldest winter to warmest (almost) spring! We are looking at 90° by Monday – 20° above normal even for us! Craziness!

    Anyway, thanks for the fun story and beautiful pictures. 🙂

  8. We don’t have frogs around here. We have toads, but still fun to catch and chase around the yard. Beautiful pictures. Is that first one a tulip? We have daffodils blooming but the tulips are gonna be a few more weeks. I’m guessing that big bug in the second picture was a bumblebee.

  9. Pingback: Froggy Goes to the Ball « My Adventures and Antics

Leave a Reply

