Architecture

PSHunt

Become a Photo Hunter
View theblogroll

Architecture

During his youth my father worked in the lookout towers in the mountains of Oregon and Washington. As a child I was regalled with fantastic stories from his experiences. I distinctly recall falling asleep to his stories in our big red tent listening to the wind rushing through the trees.

When I was a junior in highschool we had a huge project we had to complete for English, it was called the Oregon Project and had to be about some aspect of Oregon. It included major interviews, and written report, a 20 minute (minimum) presentation including audio and visual aids, and oh so much more. šŸ™‚ Of course, I did my project on my Dad and lookout towers. I think I called it “Look-out for Oregon”. The photograph is of my visual aid that I built (with a bit of help from my Mom, who incidently worked with my Dad after they were married). It is replica of one of the towers he worked in – I want to say it was the one on Carpenter Mtn., but Mom and Dad, correct me if I am wrong. The picture was taken then, during my junior year, but we still have the tower. I gave it to my Dad for Father’s Day that year and it is still very carefully stored away in the back of Jacob’s closet. I would have taken a fresh pic of it and posted that had I been able to access his closet at present. But I can’t, so I figured this would do just fine. (thank goodness for scanners)

28 Comments

Filed under Photography, Youth

28 responses to “Architecture

  1. oh cool! that’s a very neat project! and i’m sure ur dad has lots of good memories there…very nice piece!

  2. How detailed – I love the story behind it!

  3. That’s a great way to do this week’s theme! Very original and very detailed!

  4. A.

    So very interesting. Great idea, great story!

  5. That’s a very nice idea and your father really did a great job !

  6. Amazing work! Thanks for sharing the story.

    Cheers!

  7. What a great project! Terrific replica of one of the lookout towers and a great story behind it. šŸ™‚

  8. What a great story! And how cool that you actually still have this childhood project! Fun take on the theme šŸ™‚

  9. I love those lookout towers! And what a great story to go with it.

  10. Pat

    Wow – how cool is that!! And it is so great that you still actually have it from your school days!

  11. cool project…and how sweet of your dad to keep it! Blessings!

  12. Amazing that you still have the tower that you built. What a great project and a terrific example of architecture. šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  13. That is awesome! Awesome coz you did such a great job, awesome coz you still have it, and awesome coz you gave it to your dad as a father’s day present šŸ™‚ Cheers and Happy Hunting!

  14. What a womderful memory to have of your father! Great take on this weeks theme!

  15. Wow, sounds like a great project! I hope you got a great mark to match it :)!

  16. That’s incredible architecture. We used to have those towers in the mountains around here but they probably weren’t that high. Very well done.

    I’ve been toying with changing to WP too…in fact, I have a blog there. There just seems to be a little more flexibility with Blogger. Anyhow…you can see my photo on My Photo Blog.

    Have a super weekend.

  17. awww…what a great story! and may i say that you are very talented as well? mine’s up, too! šŸ˜‰

  18. A little glimpse into your past. Thanks for sharing it with all of us. A great take on this weeks theme.

  19. srp

    You and your mom were quite the architects there. Very nice job.
    I remember those projects. Nyssa had to do on on Egypt and we made a sarcophagus with a mummy inside… wire and papier-mache. Very unique take on the theme and love the story too.

  20. Very cool take on today’s theme!

    Thanks for stopping by mine šŸ™‚

  21. That’s a great piece of architecture! Loved the story behind it.

  22. Deb

    Your project and story are both so awesome. Glad you’re better. šŸ™‚

    LOL about your post on the frogs. To bad you don’t live closer, we have a “froggie serenade” every night.

  23. What a wonderful story about your father. So many of the old fire watching stations have now been converted to cabins for the public that it is a lovely way to vacation.

  24. That is fascinating! The shutters are interesting; they protect from storms and sun. But I have noticed in many towers that I have seen that they stand on rocks! That never looked very secure to me! But it must be. That was a great project.

  25. Great story. How wonderful that you were inspired by your father. Happy weekend.

  26. mar

    How special and what a beautiful tower!

  27. What a cool project. I remember hiking to to top of Taquitz Peak [So Calif] to a similar tower, and receiving my “Squirrel card” proving I made it. Thanks for the memory.

  28. I climbed a tower like that in Northern Ontario. The view was spectacular. I’ll have to find a photo I can scan.

Leave a Reply

