A Book Meme (that was too cool to pass up)

Found this at Awesome Mom’s place and just had to snatch it up 🙂 

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?   Paperback (the cheapest I can find – used is great) unless I just can’t wait that long, then I by the hardcover.  But, that is rather rare.

Amazon or brick and mortar?   Definitely the brick and mortar. I could never give up meandering through the aisles of books – I can loose myself in bookstores. 🙂 Though I like Amazon when I am trying to find a used book that is out of print.

Barnes & Noble or Borders?   Neither – there is an amazing book store in Portland called Powell’s – it take up an entire city blog and is many stories tall.  That is the place for me. And it sells new and used books, which is even better.

Bookmark or dog ear?   Both, though most often bookmark, or I just remember what chapter I was on.

Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random?   Defintely by author(according to genre), well at least until my kids or friends mix them up, it’s about time to alphabetize again.

Keep, throw away, or sell?   Never throw away, rarely giveaway or sell (if I couldn’t stand it, or if it is inappropriate, etc), just about always I keep the books.  I usually re-read them anyway. 🙂

Keep dust jacket or toss it?   Keep – would you throw away your jacket just cause you didn’t wear it all the time? heh 🙂

Read with dust jacket or remove it?   On until it bugs me, or until I am afraid it’s getting dogeared.

Short story or novel?   Novel

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?   I’m not really a short story kind of person, but I do enjoy a number of them, so it just depends on my mood.  If they are recommended to me I will definitely read (and usually enjoy) them.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?   Harry Potter – at least in her books the plot line varies some (sorry to the Lemony Sicket fans).

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?    At the end of the book? I have a hard time putting down a good book, always going for “one more chapter”. Drives my hubby nuts. 🙂 I never stop in the middle of a chapter, that’d be like stopping halfway through eating a piece of triple chocolate mousse cake.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?   Both, as long as the dark and stormy night doesn’t get to stormy or greusome.

Buy or Borrow?   Buy most often, but I frequent the library a lot too.

New or used?   Used, unless I am dying to have the book and can’t find a used copy of it.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?   Browse and reccomendation.  If someone recommends a good book I will always give it my best shot.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?   I like tidy endings, but I am not objectioned to being left slightly in the lurch. I have a great imagination, so it is nice to have some imagining left to do.  But I don’t left being left completely hanging.

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading?   I’d read all day if I could 🙂 Most often I end up reading at night though.

Stand-alone or series?   Both.  Somtimes I enjoy a good series, unless they get to drawn out – I prefer series to be 5 books and under.  I really like stand alones though, and sometimes I just don’t understand why people think everything needs a sequel.

Favorite children’s book?   That’s like asking me to pick a favorite child.  There are just way too many to choose from.  One of my favorite fantasy books is the Chronicles of Prydain series by Lloyd Alexander, and one of my favorite regular fiction books has to be Anne of Green Gables. But I have many, many, many more favorites. but, I think you want to finish reading this tonight, heh. 🙂

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?    Mr Pudgins (I don’t recall the author right now). It is just a short little children’s book, but I loved it as a child and have fond memories of my parents reading it too me.  I just finished reading it too my children this last fall.

Favorite books read last year?    I read a lot of books that were really good last year, but one that is sticking out in my mind right now is Enna Burning by Shanon Hale.  I love it.

Favorite books of all time?    Again, ask me to shoose a favorite kid why don’t ya?  Among the favorites are: Treasure Island, Tom Sawyer, Robin Hood, Pride and Prejudice, and Jane Eyre

Least favorite book you finished last year?    I honestly don’t recall, probably a Lemony Snicket book.

What are you reading right now?     The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood by Howard Pile

What are you reading next?     I have a bit of a list that I want to make my way through.  I think I will read The Cry of the Icemark by Stuart Hill next.

1 Comment

Filed under Meme

One response to “A Book Meme (that was too cool to pass up)

  1. I’m envious that you live near Powell’s. We visit The World’s Biggest Bookstore in Toronto, but that’s only new books (a huge selection mind you), not used as well.

Leave a Reply

