Eek! (or in other words a catch up random post)

An entire week, plus has passed and I have hardly made it to my computer – I have writing assignments overdue and I miss my blog friends. 🙂  I have come to the hard realization that computer time with adventurous toddlers just doesn’t happen – when the lap top isn’t working right anyway.  It is actually working great, but for some reason isn’t connecting to our wireless network and so I can’t get my writing/blogging done.  And dissapearing into an office with Jacob running around just doesn’t work too well.

 ****

Last week I was talking with a friend on the phone while Jacob was finishing his breakfast.  I was watchig him as I cleaned up the room and talking.  At one point my back was turned and I suddenly heard this terrible gagging sound.  “What on earth is that?” I wondered as I turned to scan the room.  Jacob was choking on a piece of cereal. I flung my friend unceremoniously on the table and began thumping his back. Thank goodness after a few quick whacks  he shot the piece back out.  He looked rather startled and took some time to breathe and then just gave me a big toothy grin and amidst my lecture of chew your food happily munched away.  I hovered pretty close after that – nothing like getting your heart beating a bit fast.

****

I have funny ideas about the dresses my girls wear – ok, well there not funny to me, but some people think I am funny.  I can’t stand for my girls to wear sleaveless dresses, or really short ones.  Too many people try to make kids – girls in particular grow up too fast, or make bad attitudes look cool by printing words on t-shirts like “brat” or stupidity look good with “clueless” or whatever abnoxious things they can find.  Usually I can find at least one dress for each girl that is affordable and modest (ie, not sleeveless or looking like a mini skirt) but not this year.  That is why, had you come to visit on Friday, you would have found a haggard me sewing maically away in an attempt to complete three dress by Saturday.  I did it, and they are quite cute (and all matching) if my may say so myself.

****

It’s really hard to have fun Easter egg hunts in the rain.

****

Elizabeth had her first two official softball practices with her team this last week and is loving it.

****

Our Easter day yesterday was just wonderful.  In the spirit of or new tradition we drove up to the hospital and helped with the Easter dinner.  It seems almost odd that it has been two years already.  Sometimes it’s hard to remember that though his surgery was on Easter Sunday the actual date was March 27th.  Which was the reason we didn’t realize until we had already scheduled the date of his mini surgery that  we had sceduled it on his 2 year anniversary – it was a little odd, but had the same glowing results. 🙂  Anyway, I digress.  We mainly remember his surgery anniversary by associating it with the holiday.  We don’t really do much at these dinners, often time the lady organizing it all will have other volunteers and everything is taken care of by the time we get there, but we do talk.  We talk with the staff, we talk with the parents, and I guess even if that seems small, I remember how much just a short talk with someone who understood meant to me.  We got to see our favorite super nurse of the ICU too – and that is always special. 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Every Day Life, Heart, Jacob, Lizy

7 responses to “Eek! (or in other words a catch up random post)

  1. Laural

    I’m with you on the dress thing. I made dresses for my girls and a matching vest for my boy. Luckily I started way before you! It sounds like you had a good Easter!

    Yay! Are you going to post photos? I so want to see them. 🙂

  2. That is one reason I am glad I have all boys, I shudder to think of what I would have to go through just go get modest girl clothing.

    We have our computer in the living room so I can blog and watch kids at the same time. Not that I do it too often because the kids are very good at making sure that they have my undivided attention.

    PS I would love to see pictures of the dresses.

    Heh, Jacob would turn off the power, and then I’d loose all the work I just did – he likes power buttons. He knows where the power button is on every peice of electronic equipment that we own. And if it’s something new, he’ll find the power button with in the first minute of owning it. 🙂 Pics of the dresses will be coming.

  3. You have got to post pic’s of the girl’s dresses. I’m not talented in the sewing area but, I can imagine the problem your having. Since I only have Evan, I don’t share the problem but can see it from the boy’s aisle.

  4. Deb

    Hehe. Glad I’m not the only one finding computer time. I filled a dresser drawer full of toys for my preschooler, but nooooooooo, he has to terrorize the new bunny we have.

    You’re not strange–I don’t like sleeveless dresses on little girls either. Glad you had a good Easter.

    BTW, I finally responded to the meme you tagged me for. 🙂

  5. The cute dresses are all sleeveless. It frustrated me till I realized that I could put a cute little shirt underneath! 😛 This has opened a whole new world to me.

    I do that a lot too, but sometimes it just doesn’t look right – or I have a terrible time finding a nice enough shirt to put underneath (ie no stains, heh). It is a great idea though, and I do it frequently, but this year I decided to just bite the bullet and make them like I used to. 🙂

  6. Kellie

    Oh please do post pics of the dresses! One of my favorite things about Easter is seeing all the little children dressed in their ‘Sunday Best’. There is something so ‘spring-like’ and angelic about the children on Easter. And since I have boys I don’t get to even worry about sleeves or no sleeves. 😦 I matched my boys this year, of course!

    Agree on the slang t-shirt thing. I’m not a fan of those shirts and the crass sayings.

    Goofyj, do you mind if blogroll you too? I’ve finally updated the format of my blog. 🙂

  7. I’m glad that I don’t have a girl. I’d be far too lenient, I’m sure.

    My mom used to make our clothes when we were young. Until I was old enough to make my own for a little while (grade 7 and 8). That was when I had decided I wanted to be a fashion designer. But then my best friend’s mother gave me this newspaper article about what it took to become a fashion designer, and what the job was actually like, and I decided it wasn’t for me.

    Sometimes helpful adults are not helpful in the way they mean to be. 😉

Leave a Reply

