Things I Think About

I got to thinking (yes, that is the smoke you smell) – since I was awarded the thinking blogger award – what are some things that occupy the empty space in my mind. 

 So I decided to make a list of 10 things I think about – maybe it will become a meme, heh, and come back to haunt me.

1. I think a lot about my role as a mother (and wife).  Sometimes I think about how things are going pretty well, but mostly I think about what I need to do better.  Sometimes I think about all the wonderful aspects, and sometimes I feel so overwhelmed I can’t believe that God has sent me four of his precious spirits to care for, watch over, and teach.  I think a lot about how to have fun with the kids to give them an enjoyable childhood and I think about how to discipline with love, so that even when I am spitting nails they have no doubt of my love.  I think about keeping up with the house, and also about how the kids, Jacob especially, taught me that it is ok to let things go once in a while because they aren’t young forever.  I think about trying to have a harmonious home for my husband to come home to after long hours away at work – and I think about what on earth I am ever going to make for dinner. 🙂

2.  I daydream alot – make up stories in my head when I am driving someplace and the kids are being kinda quiet.  I especially enjoy hanging out with my two favorite characters, Will and Belinda, and imaging their next escapades.

3. I think a lot about miracles and blessings, and about God and Jesus Christ.  They occupy a good portion of my deeper thoughts as I contemplate all the marvelous miracles I have witnessed.  I could never deny Their existance, not after all the things I have seen Their work in.

4. I think about things that I haven’t done yet that I need to do – those thoughts are like needles poking around in my brain – pestering and pestering until I finally get them done – things like gardening (it has been so rainy lately) and washing the dog.

5. I like to think about stories I remember while Iwas growing up – memories.  I think sometimes I am afraid I will lose them, so I like to think about them often. 

6.  I think a lot about Congenital Heart Defects and the different groups I belong too, and about how I can become more involved (without it overwhelming the rest of my life, again that 4 kids factor).  I think about wanting to make a difference in someone’s life – maybe just by being there.  The knowledge that I can somehow make someone’s life a little better means a lot to me.  I think about all the people who have had an impact on my life, people who may not even know it, and it forges in me a desire to be there for others.  I think about all the heart mom’s and kid’s and others going through hard times, I think and I pray.

7. I think about my family – all the extended family, neices  and nephews, sisters, brothers, and aunts and uncles.

8.  Oh, and I think about chocolate….yummm! 🙂 – and of course pie too!

9.  I think a lot about my HHH, and if I am showing my appreciation enough, cause he really is an amazing wonderful guy.

10.  I think about music.  I think about my piano students and what they need to learn and work on.  I think about my own music and how it makes me feel.  I think about what kind of music fits my mood on a particular day.  Sometimes I don’t neccesarily think about music – I just think music. 🙂

What do you think about in the corners of your mind?

5 Comments

Filed under Parenting, Philosophy

5 responses to “Things I Think About

  1. Those are a lot of thoughts bouncing around in there! A lot of good stuff!

    I answered your questions on my “much adieu about nothing blog” ( http://fancydancyness.blogspot.com/ )

    Use the bathroom before you go there, I don’t want you to wet your pants laughing at me. ROFL!!!

    It’s after 4am here. I’m finally going to bed. hehe..

  2. That was really interesting! I like getting into people’s heads, lol. It’s always fun to see what goes through others’ thoughts on a daily basis. I’ll have to copy your idea one of these days …

  3. Hey girl! How are you…
    that was a great post….

    Oh gosh.. I can’t stop thinking… my brain is just going crazy…
    I always tell my husband…”I can’t sleeeeeep…. I can’t stop thinkiiiinnnnnnggg!”

    Big hugs to you!

    Terri

  4. I knew I smelled smoke coming from somewhere! 😉 Great thinking! I think I’ll copy the idea when I get a little more time!

  5. Kellie

    Hi! I love this post. Its cool to know your thoughts. I feel like i really know you in some random way. And . . . I may even steal this idea on my own blog. 🙂

    I’m thinking of taking up piano lessons. Interested in your thoughts on a non-musical adult with zippo training learning to play the piano . . . feel free to email me directly or post on my blog.

    have a great day!
    Kel

    I sent you an email, but I thought I would answer your question here too in case anyone else is wondering the same thing. I think it is wonderful that you want to take lessons. Many adults pick piano up for the first time, in fact they are some of my favorite students. 🙂 It is never too late to learn, and if you love music then you are musical. You don’t need to be a prodigy to love and enjoy learning and playing. My mom has had students well into their 80s – it was great. 🙂 I wish you the best of luck and have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

