Froggy Goes to the Ball

They had been announcing it faithfully for weeks and I was excited.  Paul and I rarely have a chance to attend dances anymore and this one was to have a live band.  Not only was it to have a live band, but it was supposed to be formal.  Sometimes an excuse to get all dressed up, just for the heck of it, is so nice and fun.

It was the annual Gold and Green Ball that our church does specifically for adults, though teens are invited to attend.  Of course it is free of charge, and volunteers worked tirelessly on decorations and organizing the event.

We arrived and we thrilled to see elegence before our eyes.  The planning commitee really did a wonderful job.  They had borrowed, from another member, a white net cannopy and it was hug and drapes over the middle of the gym – walls were hung with white cloth.  A ‘chandalier’ of vellum paper and white christmas lights was hung – looking elegant, one would hardly notice it was simply vellum.  On each table was a bowl of live gold fish – sushi – Paul and I joked.

I wore my full shiny black skirt with my silver silk blows with beading on the front – I never get to wear those because of the kids. 🙂 (and I even painted my nails! Toe and finger nails! heh)  And we danced all night, it was so fun.

When we were finally too tired to dance anymore we found our friends that we came with and headed out to the car.

“There’s a tree frog!” Paul exclaimed as he pointed to a little frog sitting by the wall as we left the church.

Fancy skirt and clothes forgotten I dove to all fours as I scurried after Mr. Frog. Now, this really shouldn’t surprise you, if you remember the last incident when I tried to hunt down a frog.  🙂  I managed to scoop the little feller up and cupped him in my hands as I sat on my knees, in my dress, waiting for Paul to hurry back with a cup to hold it in.

I must have looked an odd sight – chasing down a frog while so formally attired – but I couldn’t pass the little guy up.  He was a cutie.  The kids enjoyed watching him and were quite taken with his handsome froggy ways.  We let him go in our yard last night – we only wanted him long enough to give the kids a chance to see him up close and personal.

Tree Frog 1

Tree Frog 2

He is a very handsome frog though, isn’t he?

8 Comments

Filed under Love and Marriage, Nature

8 responses to “Froggy Goes to the Ball

  1. So did anyone try kissing the frog to see if he was a prince? I love that first photo. By the way, I can just picture you in your dressy clothes chasing after a frog. I guess it beats pyjamas, anyway. 🙂

    🙂 Nope, no frog kissing – I should have taken him into the ball to see if any of the teenagers wanted to have a go at it – that would have been a hoot! 🙂

  2. That is an adorable frog!!! I would have gone after it too.

  3. Oooooo! He is a handsome frog!

  4. Deb

    He’s so CUTE! Anyone who can catch a frog while wearing nice clothes and not rip them has my vote of admiration. ROTFLOL.

  5. Definitely a frog prince. We love frogs in our house, so impressed with your amazing frog catching skills all dolled up and everything. Great photos, I can’t believe how small he is!

  6. What awesome photos of the frog!!! You must have a great camera! What kind do you have? Mine always blurrs photos when they get that close-up. Sounds like it was a fun night!!! Jaedin and Jenacy love frogs too 🙂

    It was a fun night. 🙂 We have a Cannon Powershot IS3S (I think that is the number on it) we are really happy with it. It has a great zoom and a lot of cool other features that I am still learning about.

  7. Did you kiss him? I’m curious to find out if there is a prince in there!


    Since I already had my prince, I didn’t think it’d be appropriate to raise his hopes. And my kids are too young to start arranging marriages for yet. 🙂

  8. Just wondering, what were you wearing for shoes?
    (that frog is so worth the trouble of catching him!)

    Thanks for stopping by Patti. 🙂 Believe it or not I was wearing high heels – though not stilleto or anything – I’d break my ankle in an instant if I even tried them on in a shoe store. These heels are thick enough to give a good ammount of stability without being clunky. It was still a challenge tracking that frog down though. 🙂 lol!

Leave a Reply

