My Bloomin’ Yard

I posted a ton of new photos on flickr of everything blooming in our yard, and when the yard belongs to a botanist who loves gardening there is a lot blooming.  While the yard can be gorgeous, the weeds and work are not.  I had no idea how much work my dad spent on the yard until we moved in.  To say that it is a big job for a mom of 4 little ones is an understatement.  I do what I can, but unfortunately much of the gardens don’t get all the work and attention they need. So along with the gorgeous flowers I am sure that the trained eye will pick out all the weeds too *sigh*.  I won’t post all of the photos here, there are too many, just a few.

Golden Chain Tree in Afternoon Light

Snowballs

Lupine in the Afternoon

Blue Bell profile

Name has left my head - be back soon

Close up Purple Iris

Lilacs from our yard 1

Purple Lupine

Aster?

Rhodedendron

10 Comments

Filed under Photography

10 responses to “My Bloomin’ Yard

  1. Beautiful. Someday I’ll have a garden . . . in the meantime I’ll live vicariously through you and Karen.

  2. I think it’s gorgeous! I want pretty flowers like that in my garden someday. Don’t know how well that will go in AZ, but we’ll see. I don’t have a clue as to what anything is, so I sure don’t see any weeds. All I see is beauty. Good job keeping up your dad’s garden!

  3. Your flowers are GORGEOUS! Jessica was standing here looking at them with me. She especially loves the pink ones. I have to agree with sleepyfrog… most of those flowers wouldn’t last long here in AZ. I had more of a garden at one point but most of my flowers died… including the roses. I think I’ll have to be like Zen Mama and just live vicariously through you.

  4. Those are gorgeous! I hope to have a garden next year! I don’t have much of a green thumb, but I hope to learn! Great photos!

  5. I’m so jealous! I’m trying this year to do better with my flowers!

  6. Those are gorgeous, enjoy them!

  7. mcinsane

    NICE!!! My version of a garden is veggies only, since I tend to either put not so lovely flower combinations together, or better yet, I kill them! I won’t comment on how my veggies do! /)

    Btw, I’ve been reading your other posts too. Sounds like you guys are having a great time! Keep it up!

  8. Gorgeous photos! Uh oh I can feel my allergies coming on! 🙂 Thanks for sharing, what beautiful colors.

  9. Happy Mother’s Day! (You don’t need a bouquet, you can walk outdoors whenever you want. That’s so beautiful.)

  10. Deb

    Beautiful flowers! Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

