The “Really Official” Announcement

 As most of you have figured out by now, yes we are expecting child #5.  It is just too much fun being cryptic and seeing how many of you can figure it out, and how quickly. 🙂  My first hint was in my random 7 things about me post, then less cryptic was the post about Jacob and music.  So, forgive me for having too much fun at your expense with my announcement. 🙂  Karen takes the prize as being the very first to pick up on it, I suspected she would, it is terribly difficult to sneak anything past her. 🙂

We usually don’t announce it this early (I’m at the end of my 2nd month) but, all my kids know and the secret just won’t stay in the bag for long, so I decided to untie the strings and just enjoy letting people know in the most interesting ways possible.  Aside from the kids knowing, I am feeling the worst ever, compared to my previous pregnancies, and it is hard to conceal a constant nausea.  Though I feel totally exhausted much of the time and nauseous I am so much better off than a lot of pregnant moms, at least I am not hovering over a toilet all day. 

The due date isn’t until January, so we have a ways to go, and my first prenatal is next Monday, so hopefully at that point we will get to hear the heart beat.  We will have an ultrasound done at 20 weeks to  check for heart defects, etc. but we will not find out the sex of the baby.  We love surprises and I love not knowing what we are having until the baby is born.  We do have two names picked already, leftovers that we had chosen during our previous pregnancies, that we love and I might divulge those later if my arm is twisted enough. 😉  We are so excited, but a bit overwhelmed, we have a hard enough time sometimes with the 4 we have that 5 seems a bit daunting, but we are truly excited, and just praying we will be up to the challenge.

As far as the kids go they are all thrilled and have already thrown in their predictions. 

 Elizabeth wants another boy, “Jacob needs a buddy” she says.

Emily is just excited to have a “Baby in Mommy’s tummy”, Jacob doesn’t really get what is going on – maybe he will later what I am huge (ugh) 🙂 and Dorothy in her very own words says, “Mommy, why can’t you just have two? You know, one of each – a boy and a girl.”

Thanks Dot. (eek)  I promise I will try really hard not to complain about feeling icky, but now you will know part of the reason why my posts have been, and will possibly continue to be, sporadic from time to time.

16 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

16 responses to “The “Really Official” Announcement

  1. You are tricksy but I was on to you, I just didn’t say anything. What clinched it was you mentioning your constant nausea. Congratulations!! Having a kid after giving birth to a heart baby is a very nerve wracking proposition. I admire you for going for number five. I have two and am so very content right now.

    Yes, I have definitely been a bit more nervous this time, and I am sure that will only increase as the weeks and months pass by. Good for you for catching on, and thanks for the congrats. 🙂

  2. I, too, suspected when I read your 7 random things post … #5??? hmmm, I thought … I wonder … Then when you wrote the Jacob & music post, I thought … aha!! Congratulations!! You are such a wonderful. loving mother … this baby will be lucky to be born into such a fantastic family :). I laughed when I read Dorothy’s comment … twins! Lol, I’ll be on the look out for hints about that in the future ;)! I had that constant nausea 24/7 when I was pregnant with Dominic. That was why I was convinced it was a girl … I had none of that for the boys. Every pregnancy is different, though! I hope your nausea leaves you soon and prayers for a healthy baby!

    Yeah, hopefully Dot’s prediction doesn’t come true, I don’t know if I could handle the jump to 6 – wowzers! This is by far the worst, but it is my first pregnancy in my thirties and according to some that makes a pregnancy a lot different and harder, I suppose we shall see. Thanks for the congrats. 🙂

  3. zoo

    i’m going to take a wild stab here and guess that you’re pregnant.
    congrats!

    lol, Cara. I could start singing a wildly bad and corny rendition – “Stabbed through the heart and your to blame…” But I’ll spare you my corniness (well part of it anyway), and just say “yup”. Thanks for the congrats. 🙂

  4. Ah-ha! You started dropping clues when I was distracted with family!
    You left that comment on my picture and I sent you that note (your first reply most surely got eating by a wormhole.) When you later posted Jacob and Music I remember saying “AH-HA!!! There’s now way it can be anything else!”
    Congratulations! I agree with Sariah’s comment in the 7 things — you are amazing! I’m still trying to get the hang of my 2, any more than this just blows my mind.

    Oh, see I thought you were agreeing with Sariah’s comment about my being nuts! 🙂 heh. 5 rather blows my mind, but somehow I think it will all work out. With Dot’s comment I’ll be so relieved that its not 6 that 5 will seem easy…right? Um yeah, well, I’ll just keep telling myself that. heh. Anyway, thanks for the congrats, and I really do like that collage you did and I think I will have to do one in January when the new arrival arrives. 🙂

  5. I actually thought something was up with your April Fool’s post (which did turn out to be prophetic) so the 7 Things was actually a no-brainer.

    The craziest thing was that on April Fool’s I wasn’t and had no intention of being – and then we found out I was and we laughed and laughed. It definitely turned out to prophetic – teaches me to tease my friends about such things on April Fool’s now doesn’t it? 🙂

  6. I am with Karen, I totally thought that you would end up pregnant because of that April Fools day post… it’s Karma for you eh?

    And I also agree with Heather, you did your 7 things post while I was in the hospital, so I didn’t actually read it yet… I shall go back and see if I can find the clues 🙂

  7. Congrats. We are very excited for you. I had figured from previous posts…especially the last “official announcement” post.

  8. Congrats!!!! That is so exciting! Well, not the nasuea part, that stinks. Or being pregnant through the summer…that kind of stinks too. But having another beautiful child in January will be really great! See how close you can come to having the first child of the new year! 🙂

  9. Congratulations!!! Twins??? After the April fools joke I wouldn’t doubt it!

  10. Congratulations!!

    A good friend had her 5th child last August! (So they are 10 months up to 7 I think.) She’s never had more than 2 at home at a time. She says that once the parents are outnumbered (past 3), there’s hardly a difference! LOL!

    (The fun part is that we play Bunco together – on those night her husband takes ALL FIVE kids by himself to the local pizza place. I always think to myself, I’d love to see my husband try to handle that!)

  11. Oh my heck…
    I’m so jealous … good for you… YAY….

    I can’t tell my husband… he wants 10 more!
    I’m too afraid to do it again … even though I was told the risk was 1%… but still…. toooooo chicken…

    so we’re going to “foster/adopt”…

  12. mcinsane

    Congrats!!!! I was wondering, but didn’t want to be nosy. That is wonderful! We love kids and while I’m not ready to be prego just yet, I totally look forward to having more children! I hope that you will start feeling better soon!! Good luck! 🙂 (and give Paul my well wishes too!)

  13. Ooooh! Congratulations! I’m hoping for twins too…or maybe triplets. Would 7 in total be too many?;-)

  14. Congrats!! This is exciting news 🙂 Don’t be overwhelmed – the more the merrier!!!! At least that is the assumption that I am working with 🙂

  15. I’ve heard it just gets easier and easier after the 3rd! No? 😀

  16. Congrats! I too am prego and unlike you, will have a tax deduction baby… we’re due December 11th. Aah, the joys of nausea! I am sick about 3x a day. With my first one, I was sick so much, my official birth weight was the same as before I got pregnant. Whoo hoo… then I shed 30 lbs after having her/breastfeeding. We call it my ‘Pregnancy Diet’. 🙂
    Hoping you’re feeling better than I am.

Leave a Reply

