Thoughts on a Rainy Thursday

It is not a favorite of mine, but as it is raining today (again) it seemd to fit my mood:

Counting Raindrops

Pit-a-pat, pit-a-pat, tap-tap-tap
Rain raps upon my window.
Golashes topped by shiny yellow slickers
Beckon to me from gray shadow.

Pit-a-pat, pit-a-pat, tap-tap-tap
I trace the raindrops with my finger
As they slip
                        and
                                slide
                                        down the pane
etching patterns on the glass;
Now and then it squeaks.

Pit-a-pat, pit-a-pat, tap-tap-tap
I rest my chin upon the couch
And watch the drizzle descend.
I count the drops as they glide;
Pooling at the bottom.

Pit-a-pat, pit-a-pat, tap-tap-tap
Somewhere . . .
In the back of the house,
Bach is playing.
My eyelids grow heavy
And I slumber to the gentleness of the rain

-J.H. Schmidt

 

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Writing

3 responses to “Thoughts on a Rainy Thursday

  1. mcinsane

    I would love some rain right now! We haven’t had any moisture since June 6th! This is definitely going to be another DRY, HOT summer! Enjoy it for me, ok?! 🙂

  2. Deb

    Great poem! We’ve had over 20 inches of rain in the past week here in the Texas Hill Country.

  3. Down here in the desert, we are forgetting what it is like to see a cloud… I am not kidding either.

Leave a Reply

