K is for Kelp

Encyclopedia of Me Meme

I have very fond memories of a trip my family once took from Pennsylvania to Oregon when I was 7. That was the year I went on my first 10 mile hike.  That was also the year I remember discovering the most amazing beach on the Oregon Coast.  It was south of Coos Bay and it was called Garden Acres.  There were beautiful botanical gardens with a path leading down into a fascinatin cove.  The rocks were in the most fascinating  formations – we called them peanut rocks because some of the had big dents the shape of peanuts on them.  They were big enough for my brothers and I to sit in and curl up in.

We also found great pieces of kelp that we stuck in the back end of our shorts and paraded around like we had tails – my Dad has slides of that one, and we laugh and remenisce whenever we see those slides.

Just before we left for Montana we went to the beach with Paul’s parents.  Laying on the beach we found a huge peice of bull kelp – perfectly intact.  It looked like a giant whip.

“Just what I need to keep you in line,” I teased Paul as I pretended to whip it through the air.

 Paul laughed as I handed it over to him – it was heavy and very long, so I couldn’t get a very good swing on it.  But Paul just whipped that thing through the air,

“Everyone get in line!” he shouted teasing the kids as we all giggled.

Get in Line!

A little while later I snuck this shot of Jacob – always eager to do everything that Daddy does.

Yeah, Do What He Said

“Yeah, do what he said!”

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Jacob, Memory, Photography

2 responses to “K is for Kelp

  1. hehe I love that picture of Paul! Just so perfect!

  2. Jacob is too darned cute! Especially his quote!

Leave a Reply

