M is for Meaning

Encyclopedia of Me Meme

This was my hubby’s idea, to do language for “L” and write in Spanish and then the next day do meaning for “M” and then translate what I wrote.

So, hear is the meaning of the beginning of yesterday’s post, should you need it…

“Ok, I have never written in Spanish. I thought that for this post it would be perfect, the only problem is that nobody is going to understand me.

I loved learning Spanish. The funniest thing is that the only language that I had studied before Spanish was French. The Elders in the MTC (Missionary Training Center) where I learned Spanish always laughed at me because I spoke it with a French accent. 🙂 Ah, good times. I remember the first time I gave a talk in church in Spanish. I was terrified. But at least I didn’t say anything embarrassing.

Before my mission many people gave advice. One of them told me about a time a sister missionary, who was just out on the mission, was asked to give a talk in church. She was very nervous and wanted to say that she was embarrassed. There are a lot of words that are similar, but embarrassed is not one of them. What she thought she said was, “I am embarrassed and it is all the bishop’s fault” but instead of the word for embarrassed “vergüenza” she said “embarazado” which actually in Spanish means pregnant. Hmmm… awkward moment, though extremely hilarious. Definitely not what she meant to say. 🙂

I am very grateful that, while I am sure I made many funny mistakes with the language, I didn’t say something like this.

Good, now for something in English about funny mistakes that people make in language:”

(I won’t bother repeating the English part 🙂 )

4 Comments

Filed under Meme, Memory

4 responses to “M is for Meaning

  1. Pretty funny.
    When we were in Italy I determined to read all the signs, as a way of trying to get better with the language. Before the week was over Paul begged me to “please stop. You sound too French.”

  2. Are you whipping through the alphabet or what? And you acused me of doing so. Ha! I’ve enjoyed every post, though.. And I did follow what you wrote in Spanish–except I didn’t get the joke of the mix-up with embarrassed/pregnant. Too idiomatic, I guess 🙂

    Where did you serve? I served in MO and one area was called “The Argentine” and many of our door approaches were in Spanish, but after my memorized script–it turned into a polyglot of bad Spanish, half-forgotten Italian, pantomime and even a bit of Mass Latin thrown in!

  3. oh my goodness that’s some funny stuff!

  4. I was born and raised in the Mormon Colonies in Mexico which is located in Northern Mexico. The only problem is that we really learned “spanglish”. My older brother went to Oaxaca on his mission and some of the words we used were different than what they use. For example: “trastes” is what we call our dishes. It was either my brother or another young missionary who offered to wash the “trastes” of a family who fixed dinner for them one night. There was a lot of laughter and one confused missionary until he found out that in southern Mexico, “traste” means a person’s behind… coming from the word “atras”. So he essentially offered to wash their behinds and not the dishes. tee-hee!

Leave a Reply

