V is for Vanish

Encyclopedia of Me Meme

My memory has vanished, gone, never to be seen again.  You can blame it on the pregnancy, but I think it is seeking a tropical island to cruise to.  I’m not saying I forget something from time to time but I can’t hold a single thought in my head for longer than two seconds.  I’ll remember something in the morning that needs to be done, or a child needs to be taken to, and by afternoon I will have completely forgotten.

Why blog about a vanished brain?  Well, perhaps to vent a bit. See, I feel horrible and like I am letting my everyone down, worst of all my children.  For the second time this month I forgot about taking Elizabeth to a church activity that was really important to her.  I feel like a heel.  I keep forgetting about the meetings I have to practice with the three ladies I am accompanying for a musical number at church.  They call to remind me at the time I should have been there, but then I end up keeping them waiting for 10-20 minutes while I try to find my keys, my shoes, shake of the children, and drive to the church to practice. 

I will have a thought that I should stop and visit someone, or take cookies to them. It doesn’t get acted upon because I FORGET. Grrrr.  Emily hasn’t had a play-date for two weeks because I keep forgetting to set one up.  It is so frustrating, and I feel so terrible. It doesn’t matter how many times I write it down – I’ll forget shortly after reading it.  I have turned into one of the characteristics that I despise the most: an unreliable flake.

On the upside, I have at least remembered Liz’s dentist appointment, and the kids picture appointments at Wal-Mart (so much cheaper than school pics – rather than $25 minimum for a dinky package, I get a huge package for $6 – can’t beat that, and they do a decent job too).

 So, with my vanished brain, comes vanished keys, vanished shoes, vanished purse.  Thankfully now vanished kids yet – I haven’t set them down and forgotten where I put them as of yet. heh 🙂  Thank goodness for a sweet husband who helps keep track of my schedule, reminds me of when events are, and can tell me without batting an eye where I last set down whatever it is I am looking for.

I’d like to say that I misplaced my computer for an excuse as to why I have been so neglect in writing – and reading – or that I keep forgetting 😉  but I have been busy, and honestly not in the mood.  Maybe it’s just that I have a hard time thinking of something to write about when what is left of my brain is so busy trying to remember what I have forgotten. 🙂  hee hee. 

Anyway, bring on the vanishing memory and brain jokes – I need a laugh, even if it is at my own expense!  😀

4 Comments

Filed under Meme, Pregnancy

4 responses to “V is for Vanish

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! It is pregnancy brain, and since I am currently suffering from a severe case of adoption brain, I think you should give yourself a break and forget about it!!!

  2. I was going to say something but I forgot. 😛 Hang in there, you’re doing fine and you’re on the downhill.

  3. Okay, speaking of “vanish” — that’s what happens to my comment whenever I include a link. You’ll have to check your SPAM.

    DON’T FORGET!!! 😉

  4. Aargh! I just blitzed out my comment!!!
    Try #2:
    You know the song, “Scatter Sunshine”? Well, I scatter everything else. And I have lost kids–well, one kid–3 times! You’d think she’d have a phobia or something, but no, she is my calmest. I do have holes in my head from wence [obviously] everything falls out! So my friends learn to watch my stuff so I don’t lose it when with them, my kids learned the same, I learned to check the calendar daily or multiple times daily. For some things I have it set up–if I’m not at class when others arrive–they phone me to make sure I’ve not forgotten [we actually do it for eachother in that class!] Until your brain returns with the aging of your children, you learn to accomadate! Good Luck! Once you start getting enough sleep, you will be amazed at how your brain and memory will come back!

Leave a Reply

