NaNoWriMo

No, Jacob did not just attack the key board.  Well, what is it? you might be driven to ask.  Or, you might simply shrug your shoulders and decide that I have finally gone completely crazy and make a dash for it while you still can.

 You might also decide to check out NaNoWriMo and see what kind of crazed insanity ensues. 

 To spur on the writer in you – if you have ever dreamed of or desired to attempt writing a lengthy piece of fiction this just might be something to interest you.  I decided to bite the bullet and am attempting to me this high and lofty goal.

I suppose, I’ll tell you now that I have strung you on for a while. 

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month – which just happens to be the month of November.  The goal is to write a novel, 50,000 words in length (about 175 pages) in one month.  It is stressed that it is quantity not quality that is the focus of the month.  No editing is allowed, in fact some joke that December then becomes National Editing Month. 🙂  Basically the push is to write, write, write, all month long and by the time you are done you might be surprised with the horror you have created or the half decent story. Either way you will be impressed with the scads and scads of paper pouring out of your printer of stuff – be it drivel or not – that you have written.  Are you up to the challenge?

What is the point?  Maybe to write that book you have been to scared or daunted to write.  Maybe it is just to feel the sense of accomplishment of striving to a goal – and possibly obtaining it.  Maybe this will be the first draft of a bestselling novel that will make you rich for life….  ok, so that isn’t quite so realistic, but optimism is the key here!

What if I don’t finish?  Well, as it says on the NaNoWriMo website, “Nothing ventured, nothing gained.”  Even if you only write 500 words you are still 500 words closer than you would havebeen had you not even started. 

“But it is November 5th already, ” you argue, “I am getting a late start.”  And I would say, if you set a goal of a mere 2000 words a day (which isn’t much, really) you would have 50,000 words by the end of the month. 

 So, who wants to go crazy with me and join this November madness?  I’ll post occasional updates as to how it’s going with me.  My plan is to write the Adventures of Belinda and Will that I keep fiddling with.  I don’t know if I will meet the final goal, but it will be a lot of fun trying.  🙂 

Happy writing every one!

7 Comments

Filed under Writing

7 responses to “NaNoWriMo

  1. I am doing a similar thing right now, based on the novel month thing. Basically, it is for those of us that could never write a book, we write a blog post every day in November 😉 Totally something I can handle, writing a book, not so much.

  2. If anyone can do it, you can! I’m not even interested in NaBloPoMo this year, but I’m just not there. Two years ago, though, I remember people pushing Fret to do NaNoWriMo and I thought it was a really interesting concept.

    for other people, not me. 😉

  3. If anyone can do it, you can! I’m not even interested in NaBloPoMo this year, but I’m just not there. Two years ago, though, I remember people pushing Fret to do NaNoWriMo and I thought it was a really interesting concept.

    for other people, not me. 😉

  4. I’m in. Why not? I’ve wanted to do it every year, but forget until it’s so late in the month that I can’t see myself catching up. I also want to do NaBloPoMo, but that was ruined by sickness making it impossible for me to sit up long enough to type anything other than the first three letters of my name.

    So what I’m saying is… Watch out NaNoWriMo!!! Here comes Sariah and her delisional thoughts of being a writer! Wo-hoooo.

    Yay Sariah! I don’t know if I will make it not, but is sure will be fun trying. This is the first year I have even heard of it. If you sign up on the website let me know and we can add each other to our buddy list and root each other along. 😀

  5. Deb

    Hey, you can do it! I know you can. :o)
    NaNo isn’t for me though. I’ll stick to short works. :o)

  6. Finally, I’ve gone back far enough to find out what tis is. I wish I’d started the month off with you guys. Maybe next year…god writing… 🙂

  7. Oops, let’s try that again! Good writing… 🙂

    Hee hee – I was going to joke that my writing definitely wasn’t THAT good. 😉

Leave a Reply

