Things That Go Bump in the Night

It was late and very dark outside when I stepped onto the damp cold deck to look for our dog Susie.  I peered into the dark, not wanting to go further in order to hunt her down.  I saw something move out of the corner of my eye near the edge of the house.  Was that? I wondered as I aproached the corner of the deck.  No, I puzzled to myself, It was too high to be the dog. Concerned now, and with my imagination diving off into a thousand different directions I turned to quickly hurry into the house.

Something huge hit me from behind as it flew out of the bushes, tackling me to the deck. Strangling a scream I tried to fight the thing off, when I heard the all too familiar chuckle.  I pounded his arm, “You dork, I almost had a heart attack!” I was relieved and flustered to see my grinning husband beside me.

Suddenly I had a very strong urge to use the bathroom. Confusion poured over me as I realized I was laying snuggled in bed with my hubby’s arm around me. Huh? Confusion quickly gave way to hillarity as I realized I had dreamed the whole thing.  Great, I thought to myself,  not only does he lurk in dark corners of the house to jump out and scare me when I am awake, but now he is startling me and making me jump in my dreams.

Either that, or I have watched one too many crime shows on the tele.

6 Comments

Filed under Humor, Love and Marriage

6 responses to “Things That Go Bump in the Night

  1. Oh that’s funny. It really IS things that go bump in the night!

  2. What’s really funny to me is that this is something I know your husband would do in real life. although I’m hoping he wouldn’t tackle you while you’re pregnant. THen again, this IS Paul we’re talking about… I still have a bump on my head from his crazy antics. Seriously!!

    I always know when I’ve been watching too many crime shows on TV when I dream about someone breaking into my car, and I gather evidence in those little yellow envelopes and dust for prints and put number markers around and take pictures with my really nice digital camera, wearing latex gloves, fashionable jeans, and a bullet-proof vest. I’ve had these dreams a few times.

    No worries – he wouldn’t REALLY tackle me when I am pregnant – though it doesn’t stop him from hiding as I walk down the dark hall to step out and make me jump – of course I jump easily, so I can imagine how fun it must be. 🙂 I watched Criminal Minds Last night (ewww… is all I have to say after that one) and I was worried I’d have some wacky dreams, thankfully I was too tired, so if I did I don’t remember them. 🙂

  3. Nathan does that!!!! It drives me NUTS! He doesn’t tackle, but he jumps out and scares me half to death every chance he gets! That’s so funny that Paul even likes to scare you in your dreams! 🙂

  4. Gotta watch out for those crime shows. They play with your mind. 🙂

  5. How funny–and all a dream!

Leave a Reply

