Yippee! Woohoo!! and all that other stuff!!

NaNoWriMo Winner

As I sit typing this post I am listening to the glorious sound of 114 pages that I wrote being printed off at this very moment. That’s right folks I did it. This morning at 11:36 a.m. Pacific time I completed my ‘book’ at 50,250 words! Admist much cheering by me, and undoubtably a sigh a relief from my children who were probably wondering if they would ever have a mom again  😉  (Just kidding I really didn’t neglect them – THAT much anyway, heh)  I raced of to the shower for the first time this month.  HA! No – I decided a few more hours of stink wouldn’t be that bad so I raced off to dock my laptop and print the sucker out.  I want to hold that stack of papers in awe and say “That’s all mine – I WROTE all that.”

 Then I’ll toss it aside probably until after the baby comes and begin thinking about the editing process next spring sometime.

 So why did I do it?  Sometimes I honestly wondered  – I mean was it a waste of time.  But the marvelous feeling of accomplishing something I have never done before and always talked about is immense.  I don’t know that I ever thought I would ever actually do it until I found out about NaNoWriMo and the gauntlet was thrown down. I am not one to refuse a challenge.  So no my reward is an incredible feeling of accomplishment and a stack of papers to boot. 🙂

The journey was not easy my friends with almost 10 non writing days coming a few before and after Thanksgiving I had my challenge ahead of me as I closed in this last week. I had my plan all laid out and set before me. Then on Monday Evening Emily got sick and threw-up.  Tuesday evening Jacob caught the bug. By Wednesday I was down for the count.  After sleeping nearly all day while the kids fended for themselves, buried beneath a pile of blankets to try to keep the chills away, puking my brains out, and feeling miserable with a fever I almost gave up on the idea all together.  Thursday dawned and I actually managed to hold something down – and didn’t have to clean up anyone else’s vomist at well.  The final dash to the finish line began and as I increasinly began to feel better I began to write more.  Today I feel GOOD – and I am ready to celebrate my success with real food and CHOCOLATE!

So, I shall go and care for my children, do my laundry, clean my house, and take that long awaited shower (I really have showered numerous time this week and month). 🙂  Don’t be surprised if you see a picture of a stack of papers soon – you know what that will be. 🙂

And here is my stack of papers – excuse the dorky flower, I was playing around and the picture with the flower is what happened to turned out the best…

IMG_2926

And lastly a copy of my esteemed certificate:

NaNoWriMo Winner Certificate

9 Comments

Filed under Writing

9 responses to “Yippee! Woohoo!! and all that other stuff!!

  1. Congratulations!!! I’m really happy for you.

    I’m a loser. I’m going to keep writing my novel, but it’s not a NaNoWriMo novel anymore. I’ll try again next year. I can’t believe how badly I failed. Oh well… This is about YOU!

    So… YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY!!! I hope to get to read it someday! 😀

    You are not a loser – at least you tried and wrote something that you can keep working on throughout the year. 🙂 I’m almost lost now- I finished the idea that has been occupying my brain for years now – feels rather lonely. 🙂

  2. For some reason, I just love the phrase, “high-velocity novelist”. Congratulations on a job well done. Well, done anyway. 😉

    🙂 Yeah, once I get it thouroughly edited and all that then maybe we can say a job well done. 🙂 I’m just happy to be done at this point – I didn’t even spell check it!

  3. Way to go!!! I also hope I get to read it someday!!! 🙂 Good Job!

  4. zoo

    that’s pretty crazy awesome! bravo for following through. (i thought i was going to try nanowrimo once, but i got distracted by something shiny. ;))

  5. Pamala

    Wow! That is incredible. I admire your writing ability and gumption. Cool family pictures- on your header that is.

  6. Deb

    Wheeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I KNEW you could do it! Proud of ya!

  7. Congratulations. ?You’ve accomplished something many of us talk about doing…but it is just talk. I actually had a novel near completion years ago, then the hard drive crashed, and I’ve never rewritten it. So are you saying the characters will quit bugging me if I do? I am amazed at your stick-to-it-tiv-ness. I tried to do the letter topics with you…and I’m only up to S…you inspire me!

    Change of topic…how has your family weathered the literal storms we’ve heard so much of in the news? Hope all is well for you and yours.

    All is well here – thanks for asking. There has been quite a bit of flooding, but thanks to a trench that was dug back in 96 because of the big floods then and a sump pump that we put under the house, we are doing just fine. The winds got a little crazy, but not nearly as bad as they were on the coast. No trees blown over around here – we didn’t even loose any power, just a couple of dips.

    As far as the characters – they haven’t been pestering me since finishing, so maybe they would quit pestering you too. 🙂 Now, the editing part is nagging at me. 🙂

  8. Oh…and did you win a prize? When can we read even a rough draft?

    My prize was the satisfaction of accomplishing the goal – and that cool little certificate saying that I did it. 🙂 As far as reading a rough draft – the hard part is trying to figure out how to get a copy of the rough draft to anyone to read 😉 It is 114 pages after all. Maybe I’ll get lucky and have it published – long ways to go before that happens though.

  9. This is terrific and an inspiration as I always wanted to write for kids.

Leave a Reply

