It’s Coming in January!

And, I’m not just talking about the baby. 🙂  Elizabeth brought the mail in today and handed me a manila envelope.  It was adressed to me from the Ensign.  It felt like a magazine. “Could this be?” I wondered.  I opened the envelope and there in my hands sat the January issue, not yet released to the general public.  I flipped to the index, expecting to find my article, “Not Just A Blanket” located in the back, Latter-day Voices, section.  I was surprised to find it listed as a feature article on page 25! 🙂  I think I’ve read it at least 5 times now and just sit in awe holding the magazine thinking – there is my name in print.  Of course, I didn’t write the article with the anticipation of being ‘published’ and I was genuinely surprised when the informed me they would be publishing it. I wrote it because I felt inspired to do so, but there is still something amazing about seeing something your wrote officially published. Must be the writer in me. 🙂

So there you have it, keep your eye out for the January publication (if you get the Ensign) and look on page 25 for my short little blurb – oh, and if you don’t keep your Ensigns eternally, I would love any extra copies you can send – once you are done reading it and everything of course! 🙂  Also, if you don’t receive the Ensign and want to read the article I will post a link to it once it is up on the website – probably later this month, or beginning of Jan.

8 Comments

Filed under Religion, Writing

8 responses to “It’s Coming in January!

  1. Julia I am so excited for you! Congratulations!!! There is nothing like holding that first item in print. You had better cut one copy out and frame it girl!

  2. I always love the Ensign but now I’m EXTRA excited to get next month’s! Congratulations! 🙂

  3. I am excited to get mine! I can’t wait to read your story.

  4. YAY!! We’ll have to check it out.. I think my ensign subscription stopped.. because we didn’t get decembers issue.. but then again we moved so we’re not sure if it’s held up somwhere.. I’ll have to go online and order more. Hopefully we’ll get it in time.. if not.. I can always read the online version.. YAY for getting published!

  5. That is really something to be proud of – way to go!

  6. YAY YAY YAY YAY!!! I am more excited than usual to get my Ensign!! Yours will be the first article I read in January. 🙂 Congratulations! This is so dang exciting!! (I can’t stop using exclamation points!!)

    Oh, and for anyone who doesn’t get the Ensign… if you want a hard copy, you can buy single copies at any Deseret Book and I’m assuming any LDS bookstore. Just an FYI. 🙂

    Again, a great big YAY for you, Julia!!!!

  7. Kellie

    I don’t know what the magazine, Ensign, is but I can’t wait to read your article when you link to it. Congratulations! that’s a great accomplishment!! 🙂

  8. Ours just came today–think I’ll go read it now! Hooray for you! [To Kellie and anyone else: The Ensign is a LDS–Latter day Saint church magazine and is availible online at LDS.org so you don’t even have to get a copy of the magazine to look up Julia’s article.]

Leave a Reply

