A Case of Snuggles

I think the thing I miss most about babies at this stage, and the thing I love the most about babies at this stage is the snuggles.  I love how they cuddle up on you and and snuggle into you. How they are content to lie on your chest and just be held.  Jacob barely stops long enough for me to give him a quick hug, let alone sit and cuddle with him for any period of time.  Yup, I love the baby snuggle stage. 🙂

As requested: Mama and James

Mama and James

A Mother’s Prayer
(a rubaiyat)

I feel the rhythmic creaking of my rocking chair
And press my cheek, so soft, against your downy hair.
I drop a kiss upon each peaceful slumbering eye
And utter in my heart a silent hopeful prayer.

I want to nurture you and teach you to reach high,
I want you to understand that it’s okay to cry.
I’ll teach you to catch snowflakes on your tiny tongue
And marvel at the rainbows in the glistening sky.

I’ll show you nature’s miracles, after spring has sprung
And show you all the little creatures hiding among
The rocks and crevices. I want to teach you
How to sing the song that’s left unsung.

I want to show you lions, roaring at the zoo,
And be your secret confidant when you’re feeling blue.
You are my precious child. None can compare.
Remember always who you are, my darling, I love you.

-J.H. Schmidt

Hanging out

Half Smile

Sleepy Boy

Hello world!

And a couple of Papa and James too:

Daddy and James

Dad and James at birth center

Daddy and James at Birth Center

13 Comments

Filed under Children, James, Parenting, Photography, Poetry, Writing

13 responses to “A Case of Snuggles

  1. Yup, I miss the snuggles, too. And how much they actually sleep! 😉

  2. You have got to stop posting these adorable pictures. You are making me want to go out and get pregnant like right now.

  3. So cute! In some of the photos he looks like a much older baby. I guess it’s the outfit? (Nothing wrong with it at all! I’m just used to seeing the tiny tykes in sleepers all the time.)

    Paul and I were surprised by how grown-up he looked in that outfit too – especially with his eyes open. I remember having to change him out of it shortly ofter because of a leaky diaper and once I got him back in a sleeper he looked like a little guy again. 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing the sweet photo of you and James. When I saw him in that green and gray Adidas outfit, I was getting visions of him as a bigger boy playing soccer. : ) So adorable!!!

  5. Kellie

    oh me too! He is too adorable. I might need another one. 🙂 I wish. Daddy Jack says ‘no way’. So I’ll just have to watch yours through the pics. I loved the little outfit. and the yawn picture. those are definitely the good days. i think i forced my boys in to snuggling. 🙂 we snuggle all the time. well, jack jr. scotty – not so much. congratus again!

  6. You look great!
    I love snuggly newborns, too. Boy Blue grew too quickly — lucky for me my neighbour has a little one.

  7. OHMY! I haven’t checked in in a while and now look at these pics of this sweet baby boy! CONGRATS! What a beautiful baby. 🙂

  8. Pamala

    Beautiful pictures J. O the days before digital photography! We are so blessed with technology. Glad things are going so well. James looks very sweet- uh I mean handsome- hehe.

  9. What a beautiful baby. Part of why he looks older is the hair. All mine had hair so I’m a bit biased, but he is beautiful–the expressions–I liked the 2nd & 4th from the top best:)

  10. Congratulations, Julia, on your beautiful healthy James:)!!! What a cutie-pie!

  11. mcinsane

    So cute!!! I love the snuggles too! Gotta love those babies that want to be with you and don’t talk back!! 😉 Keep enjoying it!

  12. Hes adorable! Love the little outfit!

    You probably dont remember me…you posted a comment a LONG time ago on my blog about my son, Noah. He was born with a heart deffect, and thats how you found my blog. 🙂 Anyway, I just wanted to say HI! 🙂

  13. Deb

    What a handsome little fella! He’s so adorable! I loved the poem. :o)

Leave a Reply

